Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 43

    Help please for a total Noob

    This is a discussion on Help please for a total Noob within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by djbobeb Definately an issue with the router and beyond that. Would it be worth resetting the router ...

    1. #31
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by djbobeb View Post
      Definately an issue with the router and beyond that. Would it be worth resetting the router and placing all connection details back into it? Unfortunately this may take a bit of time as you will need to make a note of all the connection details, etc as well as have to re-connect the laptop via wireless again. Not sure whether you can make a backup of teh config first, reset it and then re-load the details back in?

      Is it worth checking just what other devices may be connected that may not be yours (it is always possible for people to connect to your router via wireless by hacking connection passwords too), megga rare but can happen.

      Check to see if any strange devices are connected by going to:

      maintenance and the attached devices.

      OK been to maintenance and attached devices, showing the ip address of my PC and also the PS3, nothing else.

      When you say resetting the router and having to put all settings back in what do you mean ?



      Cheers Huddo............(sorry for the lack of knowledge !!!)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      He means a hard reset on the router so its back to how sky sent it. Are you still using the WPA key that is on the sticker on the router or have you changed any settings in the router itself? (Changed to WEP on wireless etc).

    4. #33
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      He means a hard reset on the router so its back to how sky sent it. Are you still using the WPA key that is on the sticker on the router or have you changed any settings in the router itself? (Changed to WEP on wireless etc).



      Still using the WPA key as far as I know. The only thing I did was put the PS3 into DMZ and added the PS3 ip address to the DMZ part of the router. Everything else I didn't touch (as far as I can rememebr)




      HUDDO

    5. #34
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Well as long as you know how to put the info back in again you may want to hard reset the router and let it scrub all settings etc. Then see if the speeds to the PCs return. Hold the reset button in for approx 10 secs until the lights flash on the router and then release the button.

    6. #35
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Well as long as you know how to put the info back in again you may want to hard reset the router and let it scrub all settings etc. Then see if the speeds to the PCs return. Hold the reset button in for approx 10 secs until the lights flash on the router and then release the button.

      Ok done that, guess what, still slow. GGGGrrrrrrrrr.

      I think i'll have to phone Sky, is it the 08706005630 one in the back of the router manual. What time is best to ring ?




      HUDDO

    7. #36
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      08442 410 515 and call anytime you want, they are normally quieter in the evenings but you may still find a short queue.

    8. #37
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      08442 410 515 and call anytime you want, they are normally quieter in the evenings but you may still find a short queue.


      Thanks very much for everyone's contribution. I'll give Sky a call and I'll let you know what they say.

      Fingers crossed.





      HUDDO

    9. #38
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Well after speaking to a few people on different levels it would appear that the final chap i spoke to was 100% sure what the problem was. He stated that there is an issue with some peoples broadband that they were made aware of at 1930hrs yesterday that there is a slow throughput fault and is nothing to do with my set up. He stated they are aware of the problem that is affecting certain users and that it should be fixed within the next 48 hrs (here's hoping).



      HUDDO

    10. #39
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Huddo, what exchange are you on?

    11. #40
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Huddo, what exchange are you on?


      I believe it's the Drayton Exchange (Norfolk). He did seem to know what he was talking about and assured me that it was definately 100% the problem ! I got his user Id just incase it isn't so i can go back to him and have a go !!

      Initially he fiddled a bit with the line settings, the dowload speed fell from 8096 to 7 something but he increased the upload speed from 300's to the 400's. He was going to send me a new router as he couldn't understand why my line was so slow. He went to speak to a supervisor who told him of the fault. He then looked up some code on his computer and confirmed there was a problem there end.



      HUDDO

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION