Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 43

    Help please for a total Noob

    This is a discussion on Help please for a total Noob within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; if you boot your PC in safe mode does normal speed return? to boot in safe mode, shut down the ...

    1. #21
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      if you boot your PC in safe mode does normal speed return?

      to boot in safe mode, shut down the pc. then, once you turn it on again, keep pressing F5 until you get the Windows Advanced Configuration menu. select Safe Mode with Networking and boot Windows. This loads the basic drivers needed for Windows to run and if normal speed returns then something booting with Windows normally is the cause of the slow down...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by djbobeb View Post
      I'd check to see what is using the network on both your laptop and PC, try using the following TCPView which is a SysInternals tool from Microsoft which is FREE. Awesome for seeing what is using the network and how many connections are being made (sorry if this is too technical but it is good for diagnostics regarding the TCP stack, etc:

      TCPView for Windows

      The issue is that your router is saying you have got a fast connection, and yet perfomance us very slow when you try and do downloading, etc, so sounds like something is eating the bandwitdh somewhere possibly.

      Another suggestion may be to test the internet with the PC first whilst the laptop is off, and then vice versa (laptop on the internet with the PC off) and see if it performs differently, therefore identifying possibly one of the devices casuign the performance degrade?
      Ok this is the list it came up with, i'm afraid it means nothing to me !!!

      AppleMobileDeviceService.exe:5692 TCP HUDSONPC:27015 HUDSONPC:0 LISTENING
      CCSVCHST.EXE:1028 TCP HUDSONPC:1025 HUDSONPC:0 LISTENING
      iexplore.exe:2256 UDP HUDSONPC:1150 *:*
      iexplore.exe:2256 TCP hudsonpc:1614 Ookla Net Metrics | Home ESTABLISHED
      svchost.exe:1068 TCP HUDSONPC:epmap HUDSONPC:0 LISTENING
      svchost.exe:1156 UDP HUDSONPC:ntp *:*
      svchost.exe:1156 UDP hudsonpc:ntp *:*
      svchost.exe:1188 UDP HUDSONPC:1028 *:*
      svchost.exe:1188 UDP HUDSONPC:1114 *:*
      svchost.exe:1188 UDP HUDSONPC:1564 *:*
      System:4 TCP HUDSONPC:microsoft-ds HUDSONPC:0 LISTENING
      System:4 TCP hudsonpc:netbios-ssn HUDSONPC:0 LISTENING
      System:4 UDP hudsonpc:netbios-ns *:*
      System:4 UDP hudsonpc:netbios-dgm *:*
      System:4 UDP HUDSONPC:microsoft-ds *:*





      HUDDO

    4. #23
      djbobeb's Avatar
      djbobeb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Hi Huddo

      Basically what it is showing is a list of various packages that are communicating on the network, the list you have shown shows internet explorer (iexplore.exe) and various system executables which are fine. The CCSVCHST.exe is symantec and the applemobiledevice must mean you also sometimes connect an apple device of some kind (iphone/etc) to the PC and this is a service listening on the network too.

      Is the list you have sent above the entire list and is this on your PC or laptop? Have you also tried doing what was suggested of turning one device and testing, and then vice versa mate?

      If the list is not complete and you want to send the entire list from both PCs, please send via a direct message to me if you wish as this list may be big.
      Last edited by djbobeb; 31-07-08 at 11:41 AM.

    5. #24
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by djbobeb View Post
      Hi Huddo

      Basically what it is showing is a list of various packages that are communicating on the network, the list you have shown shows internet explorer (iexplore.exe) and various system executables which are fine. The CCSVCHST.exe is symantec and the applemobiledevice must mean you also sometimes connect an apple device of some kind (iphone/etc) to the PC and this is a service listening on the network too.

      Is the list you have sent above the entire list and is this on your PC or laptop? Have you also tried doing what was suggested of turning one device and testing, and then vice versa mate?

      If the list is not complete and you want to send the entire list from both PCs, please send via a direct message to me if you wish as this list may be big.


      Ok once again thanks for the replies it is very much appreciated, please don't abandon me yet though !!!


      First I booted the PC into safe mode and it was slightly quicker (not much though)

      Download was 732 kb/sec and upload was 223 kb/sec.

      I am off out now for a couple of hours but when I return I will try with the laptop on and the PC off as when I tried the laptop last night the PC was also switched on.

      That was the complete list it gave for my PC so I will do the same for the laptop on my return and post that list too.

      Thanks all




      HUDDO
      Last edited by Huddo; 31-07-08 at 11:51 AM.

    6. #25
      djbobeb's Avatar
      djbobeb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      No worries Huddo

    7. #26
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Right just got back.

      PC is off, laptop is on. laptop is incredibly slow so no difference there. Does that means its not anything to do with th PC ??

      Here is he list now from the laptop.


      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49278 us.mcafee.com:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49279 us.mcafee.com:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49283 us.mcafee.com:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49290 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49291 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49293 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49294 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49295 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49296 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49298 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49299 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49300 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49301 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49302 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49304 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49305 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49307 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49308 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      [System Process]:0 TCP donna-laptop.home:49309 host81.akamai-thn.cust.telecomplete.net:http TIME_WAIT
      explorer.exe:1900 TCP donna-laptop.home:49306 crl.microsoft.com:http ESTABLISHED
      iexplore.exe:3840 TCP donna-laptop.home:49275 downloads.sysinternals.com:http ESTABLISHED
      iexplore.exe:3840 UDP Donna-laptop:59903 *:*
      lsass.exe:624 TCP Donna-laptop:49156 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      McNASvc.exe:4104 TCP Donna-laptop:6646 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      McNASvc.exe:4104 UDP donna-laptop.home:6646 *:*
      mcupdmgr.exe:2172 TCP donna-laptop.home:49297 92.122.44.27:https ESTABLISHED
      mcupdmgr.exe:2172 TCP donna-laptop.home:49303 92.122.44.27:https ESTABLISHED
      services.exe:608 TCP Donna-laptop:49157 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      svchost.exe:1032 TCP Donna-laptop:49153 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      svchost.exe:1084 TCP Donna-laptop:49155 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      svchost.exe:1084 UDP Donna-laptop:isakmp *:*
      svchost.exe:1084 UDP Donna-laptop:ipsec-msft *:*
      svchost.exe:1084 UDPV6 donna-laptop:500 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 TCP Donna-laptop:49154 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      svchost.exe:1228 UDP Donna-laptop:ntp *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDP Donna-laptop:ssdp *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDP donna-laptop.home:ssdp *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDP Donna-laptop:62838 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDPV6 donna-laptop:123 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDPV6 [0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1]:1900 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDPV6 [fe80:0:0:0:cb3:23b0:3f57:fffd]:1900 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDPV6 [fe80:0:0:0:69b8:88b8:da52:cdfc]:1900 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDPV6 [fe80:0:0:0:e961:b820:3d46:c3b9]:1900 *:*
      svchost.exe:1228 UDPV6 [0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1]:62837 *:*
      svchost.exe:1344 UDP Donna-laptop:llmnr *:*
      svchost.exe:1344 UDPV6 donna-laptop:5355 *:*
      svchost.exe:900 TCP Donna-laptop:epmap Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      System:4 TCP donna-laptop.home:netbios-ssn Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      System:4 UDP donna-laptop.home:netbios-ns *:*
      System:4 UDP donna-laptop.home:netbios-dgm *:*
      wininit.exe:564 TCP Donna-laptop:49152 Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      wmpnetwk.exe:3740 TCP Donna-laptop:rtsp Donna-laptop:0 LISTENING
      wmpnetwk.exe:3740 UDP Donna-laptop:5004 *:*
      wmpnetwk.exe:3740 UDP Donna-laptop:5005 *:*
      wmpnetwk.exe:3740 UDPV6 donna-laptop:5004 *:*
      wmpnetwk.exe:3740 UDPV6 donna-laptop:5005 *:*




      Anyone have any more thoughts ?


      Cheers



      HUDDO

    8. #27
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      I take it you have mcafee on that laptop? It looks like a lot of ports open on that computer but if the same is happening with and without firewall in use on different computers it may well be a throughput issue from the router.

    9. #28
      Huddo's Avatar
      Huddo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      I take it you have mcafee on that laptop? It looks like a lot of ports open on that computer but if the same is happening with and without firewall in use on different computers it may well be a throughput issue from the router.

      Yes Mcafee is on the laptop. I'm getting slow speeds if the PC is on only, if the laptop is on only and if they are on both together.

      It makes no difference if I switch the firewalls on or off, still slow speeds.


      Just swithced the PS3 on to do the firmware update and it normally takes about 15-20 mins to do. Been stuck on 0% for about 3 minutes now, not good.



      Where do I go from here, any ideas ?



      HUDDO
      Last edited by Huddo; 31-07-08 at 01:59 PM.

    10. #29
      djbobeb's Avatar
      djbobeb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      Definately an issue with the router and beyond that. Would it be worth resetting the router and placing all connection details back into it? Unfortunately this may take a bit of time as you will need to make a note of all the connection details, etc as well as have to re-connect the laptop via wireless again. Not sure whether you can make a backup of teh config first, reset it and then re-load the details back in?

      Is it worth checking just what other devices may be connected that may not be yours (it is always possible for people to connect to your router via wireless by hacking connection passwords too), megga rare but can happen.

      Check to see if any strange devices are connected by going to:

      maintenance and the attached devices.

    11. #30
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help please for a total Noob

      I would put the pc back on and call Sky, the laptop has a LOT of items in the list you posted but the PC wasn't that bad. Tell the T1 agent that although the router is synched correctly you have a very poor throughput speed on ethernet from the router to the computer.
      When you call make sure you have the computer connect by ethernet and not by wireless, tell the agent you have the same issue on another pc on ethernet and on wireless and that you have tried disabling the firewall and there was no change.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION