Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    HELPPP please...:(

    This is a discussion on HELPPP please...:( within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have just installed windows vista on my pc, and before i done that i got speeds of about 10-11mbps. ...

    1. #1
      __V__'s Avatar
      __V__ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HELPPP please...:(

      i have just installed windows vista on my pc, and before i done that i got speeds of about 10-11mbps. But i have just ran the speedtest.net and it says that im only getting this


      I have ran the tcp optimiser and that has not made a difference, normally when i run that on windows xp it makes a huge difference

      please help me i do not know what to do

      BTW: i have got the max package, and as i said above when i was running xp i was getting speed of around 10-11mbps

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      Are you that bloke with the Guy Fawkes mask?
      Anyway the guys on here will want to know if you are connecting wired or wireless, and also what your router statistics are, as this will establish where the bottle necks are.

      .....................or one of those aliens who enjoyed a nice fresh mouse.


    4. #3
      __V__'s Avatar
      __V__ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      hahaha...
      i am connecting wireless to the internet and my stats are:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 579734 927476 0 1255 28455 10:52:09
      LAN 100M/Full 5779 0 0 19 0 10:53:42
      WLAN 11M/54M 911197 592457 0 28710 1299 10:53:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4091 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 13 db


      I think it would be how it was if there was like a vista version of the tcp optimiser or anything like that, because when i had xp on here i had the same problem then i ran the optimiser with the socket patch or something like that and then i was running like 10-11 mbps

      i just hope that somebody can help me

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      I wonder if you are one of the DLM sufferers?
      You are only syncing at 4mbps, and the fact that you have upgraded your PC to Vista would not affect this.
      Maybe try plugging into the test port on your master socket and see if you sync any faster?


    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      that's DLM right there...upload is the giveaway

      and TCP optimiser doesn't work in vista, only XP...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      Vista and DLM, poor lad
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      Vista is the dogs, don't see what all the fuss is about...not a single hardware issue and no compatibility issues either...best OS ever
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      Meh, I'm just set in my ways

      Had to do a biggie Vista install a while back, using Server 2003. Talk about incompatibilities. 2.5Gig later, and I lost count of how many updates and hotfixes came down, finally got Vista clients able to join the domain! Fellow admins that I know lost as much hair in the process when they did their stuff. I personally don't like Vista at all. Lets hope Windows 2009 or whatever its going to be called will be better.

      @ _V_ - as you've been DLM'd you will need to sit it out for the 10 - 20 days that the process runs to see if your speed comes back up. After the 20 days is up, if you're not satisfied with the speed, give Sky a call. There is loads of DLM advice on this forum if have a looksee.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    10. #9
      __V__'s Avatar
      __V__ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      hmm what do u mean by DLM?
      I think its somthing to do with vista to be honest because on my laptop i am running xp and when i do the speed test i get like 11mpbs. Also on there i have run the tcp optimiser because when i didnt i was only getting like 5.

      any suggestions?

    11. #10
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELPPP please...:(

      Quote Originally Posted by __V__ View Post
      hmm what do u mean by DLM?
      The clue is in your stats ...
      Connection Speed 4091 kbps 796 kbps
      That is one of the characteristic speeds that reveals you are in the DLM process being run by Sky to improve your overall line quality and stability, possibly with a loss of speed but gain in throughput.

      Interesting you're seeing differences between the XP and Vista machine. IANTE loves Vista, no doubt he'll offer some sage advice in a moment.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION