Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Slow Connection

    This is a discussion on Slow Connection within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since moving my internet connection has not been what it should be ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 3296 kbps ...

    1. #1
      dave.mcdonald's Avatar
      dave.mcdonald is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shenley Logdge Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Connection

      Since moving my internet connection has not been what it should be

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3296 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 9.0 db

      I am on my second router, and apparently BT have been to the exchange and I have received the phone call from them, telling me the fault has been corrected.
      Any advice for when I phone the sky idiots up again, as I know I should be getting around 12Mbs


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      If there was an issue that is now fixed you will probably find you need to call up and get through to cst via a tier one agent troubleshooting your for slow speed. It may be that you have been capped to stabilise your connection during the issue that has been rectified by BT. If the issue is now resolved the cap will need to be lifted (if one is in place).
      Oh and you may want to refrain from calling them idiots when you ring up.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dave.mcdonald View Post
      Since moving my internet connection has not been what it should be

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3296 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 9.0 db

      I am on my second router, and apparently BT have been to the exchange and I have received the phone call from them, telling me the fault has been corrected.
      Any advice for when I phone the sky idiots up again, as I know I should be getting around 12Mbs
      gonna make you SO many friends at Sky talking like that...

      how do you know you should be getting 12Mbps? did you have it with your previous ISP? do you run off an extention?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      dave.mcdonald's Avatar
      dave.mcdonald is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shenley Logdge Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      Nice to see the sense of Humor is at a low on this forum....

      And after talking to there tier 1 support, and being asked if the power light is on, the question after being asked how many lights I have on the router, seems to put them into the "Stupid Question - Bracket"

      I was actually told it should be around 12Meg by there Solution team, as I am only 1.8km from the exchange and going on the attenuation figures that is what I should be getting.

      Yes I do run through an extension, but also get the same figures from the test socket. So its not the extensions.

    6. #5
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Slow Connection

      Does your downstream noise margin figure increase when plugged into the test socket.

    7. #6
      dave.mcdonald's Avatar
      dave.mcdonald is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shenley Logdge Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      No nothing noticeable. maybe by 0.1 or 0.2db

    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dave.mcdonald View Post
      Nice to see the sense of Humor is at a low on this forum....
      Maybe its because some people on here are sky employees that do a good job, and they go onto this site to help people.

    9. #8
      jaytc2003's Avatar
      jaytc2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lcath - Atherton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      with those stats it looks like your not on the max package, with the attenuation you have, once switched over to adsl 2+ you attenuation will probably change to about 37 38 (mine was on 32 on adsl and when switched over is now at 37) I currently sync at over 13 mb with a bit of tweakage so you should definately get around 11mb +

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection

      ^^^not with his noise margin at the moment.

      in truth router stats would have helped with this thread

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION