Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    if i upgrade?

    This is a discussion on if i upgrade? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; this is my router stats,my question is i am on mid,is it worth me upgrading to max...will i get faster ...

    1. #1
      incognito4657's Avatar
      incognito4657 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      if i upgrade?

      this is my router stats,my question is i am on mid,is it worth me upgrading to max...will i get faster bb?? or will i be wasting my money?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time


      WAN PPPoA 975028 1083085 0 636 3062 55:39:04
      LAN 100M/Full 681219 625336 0 1461 335 55:40:47
      WLAN 11M/54M 459192 406620 0 1743 404 55:40:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3552 kbps 96 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 6 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      Looks to me as though you have something very wrong with your line: your upstream is only 96kbps with a noise margin of 6db. On a "normal" line your upstream would be ~400kbps on Mid and with your attenuation, your noise margin would be much higher than it is. A strange upstream like that can be a symptom of a missing, faulty or incorrectly fitted filter.

      At the moment no, moving to Max would not give you more speed - you're not even close to the top that Mid should be giving you. Looks like your downstream has been capped.

      When you get your line/wiring problem sorted your Mid upstream will rise to ~400kbps and your downstream (when uncapped) to ~8000kbps. If that's not enough then moving to Max would give you ~760kbps and ~12000kbps respectively but only when your connection problem is sorted. Which by the way is down to you - it's not a Sky problem to sort out.

    4. #3
      incognito4657's Avatar
      incognito4657 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Looks to me as though you have something very wrong with your line: your upstream is only 96kbps with a noise margin of 6db. On a "normal" line your upstream would be ~400kbps on Mid and with your attenuation, your noise margin would be much higher than it is. A strange upstream like that can be a symptom of a missing, faulty or incorrectly fitted filter.

      At the moment no, moving to Max would not give you more speed - you're not even close to the top that Mid should be giving you. Looks like your downstream has been capped.

      When you get your line/wiring problem sorted your Mid upstream will rise to ~400kbps and your downstream (when uncapped) to ~8000kbps. If that's not enough then moving to Max would give you ~760kbps and ~12000kbps respectively but only when your connection problem is sorted. Which by the way is down to you - it's not a Sky problem to sort out.
      i've tried swapping the filter before, i did have a line fault and i had noise on the voice line and they fixed that,and i have tried the test socket, as for my equipment i have phone and bb going direct into the master socket with filter,so how can i improve please?

    5. #4
      incognito4657's Avatar
      incognito4657 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1804 2675 0 2697 12515 00:04:05
      LAN 100M/Full 734239 675952 0 1242 302 66:45:26
      WLAN 11M/54M 484517 431023 0 1526 358 66:45:12
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3552 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 22 db 13 db

      right i have swapped to a new filter is it any better?

      i agree i think its capped as it was higher when i first got sky,but its kept disconnecting due to the faulty line,which is now fixed.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      You need to do a test socket comparison and post the stats.

      • First off, with your normal connection.
      • Next with just the router plugged into the test socket (hidden inside your master socket) using only a filter and the supplied router cable i.e. no phone, splitter, extension etc.
      • Lastly, check that when using the test socket, no extensions will work i.e. check for dial tone

    7. #6
      incognito4657's Avatar
      incognito4657 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 172 181 0 1506 4368 00:00:35
      LAN 100M/Full 741479 679313 0 1244 301 67:51:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 510128 453007 0 1593 377 67:50:51
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3552 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 14 db

      this is the results direct into the test socket ,no phone etc.


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3267 3498 0 1076 1449 00:23:57
      LAN 100M/Full 742379 679313 0 1237 299 68:14:27
      WLAN 11M/54M 514766 458017 0 1594 382 68:14:13
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3552 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 18 db 14 db

      and this is with the phone back in,i dont have any extensions.
      Last edited by incognito4657; 22-04-08 at 12:32 PM.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      OK - that seems to suggest two things:

      • yes you're capped
      • yes your home wiring is faulty (probably that first filter as the new one is much better)


      Fix the fault then call Sky to get uncapped. You should get 8meg or close on your Mid connection.

    9. #8
      incognito4657's Avatar
      incognito4657 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by incognito4657 View Post
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1804 2675 0 2697 12515 00:04:05
      LAN 100M/Full 734239 675952 0 1242 302 66:45:26
      WLAN 11M/54M 484517 431023 0 1526 358 66:45:12
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3552 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 22 db 13 db

      right i have swapped to a new filter is it any better?

      i agree i think its capped as it was higher when i first got sky,but its kept disconnecting due to the faulty line,which is now fixed.
      so are the above ok then?...will it be ok to call sky now to get the uncapped.?..why do they cap it in the first place?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      They look OK to me.

      Sky cap for two reasons: the first is in response to a customer contact (sometimes even if it isn't about connection problems!), the second is when they find problems. The second is very rare.

      Capping can be a good thing as it will generally restore connection stability (at the expense of speed). However, I wish Sky would put a bit more effort into helping customers improve their connection so avoiding the need to cap.

      To avoid a long wait and to get through to CST in the same call I recommend calling them late at night - after 11:00.
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-04-08 at 02:19 PM.

    11. #10
      incognito4657's Avatar
      incognito4657 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: if i upgrade?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 12408 20269 0 3466 27898 00:15:07
      LAN 100M/Full 4279 0 0 78 0 01:42:59
      WLAN 11M/54M 56019 41972 0 10018 1558 01:42:45
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8189 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34 db 9.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 19 db

      i just wanted to say a huge thankyou to saturday, i phoned sky to uncap my bb and look at my stats now.

      Thanks again,

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION