Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Poor speeds from router to PCs

    This is a discussion on Poor speeds from router to PCs within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No worrys! as earlier the test socket is definately worth a try if things improve there then you have a ...

    1. #11
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      No worrys! as earlier the test socket is definately worth a try if things improve there then you have a problem on your internal wiring.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      iwmcarthur's Avatar
      iwmcarthur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Yet another update. Tried the BT Openworld site. I got lightning speeds with it. The 5MB file took 10 secs, the 10MB file took 13 secs and the 15MB file took just 20 secs. The download showed as approx 800KBps so don't think I could ask for more. The Namesco speed checker showed 6956kbps which backs up the BT results. Brilliant! Just wish I knew what did the trick!!!

      Going to try the g/f's desktop now to see what needs done there.

      Again, thanks so much for all the help/advice.

      I'll be back....

    4. #13
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Sounds like you got a good connection then.

      Also just noticed you say you are on "Connect" package, if so that has
      an automatic 10 day training period to optimise speed from when you are
      connected.
      Last edited by Koala5; 26-03-08 at 10:15 PM.

    5. #14
      Markyace1's Avatar
      Markyace1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01788
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      I have the same problem. My router reports 10032kbs but when I do a speedtest on the internet i get about 300kbs (not even half a meg). I have tried tcp optimiser too and it didn't improve. Noise Margin is only 8.1db so not much interference on the line. I do get a lot of DOS's in my router log though. Not sure whether this is ok and how to resolve this.

    6. #15
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Markyace1 - could you post your router stats (if you do have the V1 white router could you also post your detailed stats, see second link in my sig and look for the mognuts utility)

      and just to check are you wired or wireless ?

    7. #16
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Quote Originally Posted by Markyace1 View Post
      I have the same problem. My router reports 10032kbs but when I do a speedtest on the internet i get about 300kbs (not even half a meg). I have tried tcp optimiser too and it didn't improve. Noise Margin is only 8.1db so not much interference on the line. I do get a lot of DOS's in my router log though. Not sure whether this is ok and how to resolve this.
      A noise margin of 8.1 dosen't mean you have not got line errors its a differen't thing. As advised to the other guy try your test socket.

      Also you may be mixing up your bits and bytes! Download is normally measured in bytes, connection speed is measured in bits. 8 bits = 1 byte. So 300KBS = 2.4mb. I think lol.
      Last edited by Koala5; 26-03-08 at 10:34 PM.

    8. #17
      iwmcarthur's Avatar
      iwmcarthur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Hi koala5. Just tried the desktop and it's getting lightning fast speeds even though I didn't do anything there!!! I did power off the router earlier tonight, left it for a few mins and powered it back on again. Could that have made a difference....I don't know.

      Re the 'training' period for Connect I think I should be well past that as it was mid-Jan when we got it installed. Well, I hope it is!

      Wish I could help you Markyace1 and point to what did the trick for me. Router on/off, TCP Optimizer, problems at BT exchange...who knows!

    9. #18
      iwmcarthur's Avatar
      iwmcarthur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Me again koala5. Just tried laptop tonight and getting really poor speeds again. What is going on !!! Tried powering off/on the router as well as plugging it into the BT test socket but still the same results.

      Think I'll need to try sky on this one as really frustrated now. Last night was amazing speeds and now this with no changes made.

      Ideas anyone?

      Cheers, Iain

    10. #19
      iwmcarthur's Avatar
      iwmcarthur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      Phoned Sky and, after a couple of callbacks and waiting in 10min queues, got put through to the Customer Solutions Team (?). I thought their service was pretty good and, after having run a couple of line tests, they are going to contact BT as there is apparently a fault on the line.

      Could this explain the extreme variability I am seeing in my speeds? Fine one day, dreadful the next ?

      Thanks again, Iain

    11. #20
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds from router to PCs

      posible its down to contention, even more so if only in the evenings

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION