Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

    This is a discussion on Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be) within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Everyone this is my first post here and im looking forward to lots more. anyway Im currently on BT ...

    1. #1
      Four_X's Avatar
      Four_X is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ruddington - EMRDDIN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Hi Everyone

      this is my first post here and im looking forward to lots more. anyway
      Im currently on BT BB ADSL 2meg but have just ordered sky BB MAX
      thay told me that my migration would be on 2nd of april. (Still waiting for router

      (it was a pain getting my MAC code from bt)

      just wanted to know if anyone can tell me what my speed might be i currently
      have a netgear DG834G v3 router so i can show you my statistics.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed: 2272 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 46 db 15 db
      Noise Margin: 13 db 26 db

      thanks guys and gels



      Hi

      Just a quick follow up (25/03/08)

      I received my Router today it's the re-branded NetGear DG834G
      (Sky’s own DG934G the black one with sky written on the front)

      Just waiting for my letter from sky now then its all systems go
      On the 2nd of April hopefully Woo Hoo

      Just a quick follow up (28/03/08)

      Got my BT BB Letter today telling my service would be terminated
      on the 02/04/08 So it looks like sky BB Migration date will be
      02/04/08 as sky predicted.

      Only 5 days left on BT BB so i'm going to download eveything I
      can get. What are they going to do cut off my BB Connection
      Ha Ha Ha
      Last edited by Four_X; 28-03-08 at 09:11 PM. Reason: follow up


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      There's a speed estimater under the tools link at the top.

      for 46db attenuation (as i have) you'll get around 6Mb (you can get over 8Mb, but the connection becomes very unstable so i prefer a stable 6Mb).

    4. #3
      Athelus's Avatar
      Athelus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Hehehe going to jump in and ask the same question rather than making a new post,

      Stats are
      [DSL Modem Stats]
      US Connection Rate: 288 DS Connection Rate: 2272
      DS Line Attenuation: 32 DS Margin: 23
      US Line Attenuation: 63 US Margin: 31
      US Payload : 34001088 DS Payload: 35278939
      2
      US Superframe Cnt : 8588237 DS Superframe Cnt: 8588237
      US Transmit Power : 11 DS Transmit Power: 16
      LOS errors: 0 SEF errors: 0
      Frame mode: 3 Max Frame mode: 0
      Trained Path: 0 US Peak Cell Rate: 679
      Trained Mode: 3 Selected Mode: 1
      ATUC Vendor ID: 1095516994 ATUC Revision: 1
      Hybrid Selected: 1

      [Upstream (TX) Interleave path]
      CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 1
      LCD: 0 HEC: 0

      [Downstream (RX) Interleave path]
      CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
      LCD: 0 HEC: 0

      [Upstream (TX) Fast path]
      CRC: 10 FEC: 34 NCD: 0
      LCD: 0 HEC: 0

      [Downstream (RX) Fast path]
      CRC: 2 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
      LCD: 0 HEC: 0

      [ATM Stats]
      [Upstream/TX]
      Good Cell Cnt: 708356
      Idle Cell Cnt: 98461475


      [Downstream/RX)]
      Good Cell Cnt: 7349779
      Idle Cell Cnt: 774989971
      Bad Hec Cell Cnt: 8
      Overflow Dropped Cell Cnt: 0

      [SAR AAL5 Stats]
      Tx PDU's: 212442
      Rx PDU's: 320030
      Tx Total Bytes: 24607722
      Rx Total Bytes: 344870925
      Tx Total Error Counts: 0
      Rx Total Error Counts: 14


      [OAM Stats]
      Near End F5 Loop Back Count: 0
      Near End F4 Loop Back Count: 0
      Far End F5 Loop Back Count: 0
      Far End F4 Loop Back Count: 0

      The Reason i ask is as you see my speed isn't great at moment and Current ISP says i am able to get 8mb which i obviouslly can't.

      So who can guess what i might be able to connect at when i switch over to Sky Max on 4th of April?
      Last edited by Athelus; 23-03-08 at 09:00 PM.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Hi Athelus.
      Use the time you have to wait to check out your internal wiring and filters, or you will be dissapointed with your max performance.

    6. #5
      Athelus's Avatar
      Athelus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      As far as i know all the wiring is fine (certainly hoping since my father and my self worked in the Data communication field for a while) I do have a new face plate coming in a few days, minor delay due to easter weekend and all, So nothing much to do just now until the parts arrive and test out my options.

      Keep your fingers crossed for me

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      DS Line Attenuation 32
      US Line Attenuation 63
      the above look a little odd to me, when you get conected post your router stats

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Hi Athelus.
      There is one sure way to get the best performance out of your line.
      (1) Get a filter faceplate.
      (2) Put your router as close to it as possible and use a nice short twisted pair cable to connect to the filter. As you know, it is important to get the DSL sig into the router as soon as you can after it has entered your home, to keep it as clean as possible.
      (3) I'll leave you to sort router to computer connection, just try not to use wireless, it's performance is poor.

    9. #8
      Athelus's Avatar
      Athelus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      the above look a little odd to me, when you get conected post your router stats

      Will do

      It looks very strange to me too, When i first joined my Current ISP 512 was the best they could offer in my area (many years ago i think back in 2000) so i was satisified with the service, then a few years later they offered upto 1 meg but i stayed at 512, then 2mb came and i was still stuck on 512 so i complained and mysteriously i was able to connect at 2mb, of course now a days 8mb is available but i never bothered to complain after the hassle first time, so I have a nasty feeling i'm being limited by my ISP (a major reason for me leaving).

      Of course i could be wrong and i may have a bunch of loose wires sitting behind my walls since we had a lot of renovation done on the house in the last 8 months.

      Time will tell though.

    10. #9
      Athelus's Avatar
      Athelus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi Athelus.
      There is one sure way to get the best performance out of your line.
      (1) Get a filter faceplate.
      (2) Put your router as close to it as possible and use a nice short twisted pair cable to connect to the filter. As you know, it is important to get the DSL sig into the router as soon as you can after it has entered your home, to keep it as clean as possible.
      (3) I'll leave you to sort router to computer connection, just try not to use wireless, it's performance is poor.

      Yeah my PC is currently set up approximately 18 inches from the Master Point so connecting shouldn't be an issue hehehe, My PC is always hard wired to the router, the pc upstairs is wireless but i never use it so i'm not overly fussed about it's speeds.

      I have an XTE-2005 in the post so have the faceplate part sorted.

      So hopefully things should be smooth sailing once everything arrives.

      Thanks for the tips though

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just Ordered Sky Max (What do you think my speed will be)

      Jolly good all will be well. Just one more thing, when you remove the faceplate from the master to expose the test socket, make sure that any extension sockets that you have are dead. This is important for the filter faceplate to work properly. If any still have a dial tone you will need to get them sorted.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION