Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Is it worth asking for adsl2

    This is a discussion on Is it worth asking for adsl2 within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all, thanks in advance but just a quick question, with a line attenuation of 42 is it worth asking ...

    1. #1
      mrcross's Avatar
      mrcross is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: skelmersdale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it worth asking for adsl2

      Hey all, thanks in advance but just a quick question, with a line attenuation of 42 is it worth asking to be moved from gdmt to adsl2.

      Not home to post stats but noise is around 8db and errors are virtually non existant. Also currently connect at 8096kbps as I have done since went live in July. Line is stable so whats ur thoughts??

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      With att of 42 you could expect around 11500ish on a noise free line. Dont forget tho that your line may be error free now because you are on gdmt. A change to adsl2+ could, because it is more susceptible to errors, change that.


    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      attenuation will also increase a couple of points (to about 44)

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      not worth it IMO...will only lead to trouble...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      My attenuation is at 37db and on ADSL2 I can get up to 12 meg a second, unfortunately due to the v1 router not being able to track the signal to noise ration I have to reboot the router at midnight to be able to leave the router on all the time and not worry about disconnects.

      This gives me a line speed of 9-10 meg/sec and I was wondering if I should ask Sky to put me on GDMT just to cap me at 8 meg/sec and have no problems with the signal to noise ratio dropping out.

      I haven't done so as I would expect them to make a complete hash of it.

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      ^^ you can do this yourself using the mognuts utility

    8. #7
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7168 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.8
      Max(Kbps): 8992 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 7168 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 225(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 225 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0707 8.6153
      L: 1808 208
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 1717180 1717178
      SFErr: 18894 2
      RS: 116768270 14596013
      RSCorr: 109177103 154
      RSUnCorr: 32935 0

      HEC: 15693 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 493466006 0
      Data Cells: 10929610 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2575 0
      SES: 480 0
      UAS: 56 0
      Total time = 8 hours 7 min 50 sec
      SF = 1717180
      CRC = 18894
      LOS = 70
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2575
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 7 min 50 sec
      SF = 1717180
      CRC = 18894
      LOS = 70
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2575
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 50 sec
      SF = 27700
      CRC = 17
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 25
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52871
      CRC = 30
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 24
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 22
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 21
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19


      should i ask for adsl2? coz looks like i can get better speed
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    9. #8
      mrc52's Avatar
      mrc52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRBRO
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Salford Lancs
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      Hi'
      New member here just saying hallo,and asking what is G.DMT.I thought all sky BB except connect was ADSL 2.

      Thanks
      Michael

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      Quote Originally Posted by alex-k View Post
      should i ask for adsl2? coz looks like i can get better speed
      No. You won't get any higher speed on ADSL2+ with your attenuation.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Is it worth asking for adsl2

      Quote Originally Posted by mrc52 View Post
      what is G.DMT.I thought all sky BB except connect was ADSL 2
      G.DMT is a very vague descriptor for an ADSL mode. There are several different versions and implementations in use around the world.

      Sky Connect uses a specific implementation called ADSL Max provided by BT.

      Sky's own LLU products (Base, Mid) use a different version and implementation of G.DMT to BT's.

      Sky's LLU Max product is either Sky's G.DMT or ADSL2+ depending on the line capabilities (ADSL2+ only offers advantages on short high quality lines which will support >8meg).

      Neither BT or Sky offer ADSL2.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION