Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

    This is a discussion on Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by mrplatypus Here are me current stats, would someone please explain them... Your connection is massively capped. Call ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      Quote Originally Posted by mrplatypus View Post
      Here are me current stats, would someone please explain them...
      Your connection is massively capped. Call Sky, go through low speed troubleshooting. get through to CST and they'll sort it for you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mrplatypus's Avatar
      mrplatypus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forge Way, Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      Saturday,

      Might I ask, who are CST?
      Thanks

      mrPlatypus.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      Just call Sky support where you will first get Tier 1, if they cannot fix your issue, they will pass you to the Customer Support Team (Technicians?)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      it's actually Customer Solutions Team
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      mrplatypus's Avatar
      mrplatypus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forge Way, Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      IsitTime .. thanbks for the info.. I am on the phone with sky as I type .. 1st line support have identified that therer is a problem .. I am on hold to speak with the next layer of support ..

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      Hopefully the Customers Team will find a Solution for your problem

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      mrplatypus's Avatar
      mrplatypus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forge Way, Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      Sky Team have been involved, here are the results:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4320 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db

      Looking better, but nowhere near the 8 mb I should be getting, looks like another call to Sky!

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      You wont get 8mb with that attenuation although 6-7 should be ok. Your noise margin is near the lower limit now so you must have some noise on the line, until this is cleared your speeds cannot be increased as the line will become unstable.

      You should get the stats again from the test socket if you have one and consider fitting a filtered faceplate if this is the issue.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      but nowhere near the 8 mb I should be getting, looks like another call to Sky!
      The package is Up to 8Mb, your line is too long to support the full 8Mb. As suggested plug into the Test socket and see what you stats are like from there. I think you may get about 6+Mb if you can get the noise off the line. You will be wasting your time calling Sky as your noise margin shows your line is getting the maximum it is capable of in its present condition.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      mrplatypus's Avatar
      mrplatypus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forge Way, Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Average BB Speeds for Sky Broadband Base? AND how do my stats fair?

      Thank you, all for replying.

      .. This news is a shame, as I was considering signingup for the max package...
      But if my line will not take it, there really isn't much point at this stage.

      That said, thanks to BT's investment plans, I hope that my lines will be upgraded around the next few years...

      At least there is a little hope.

      mrPlatypus

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION