Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    surely my speed should be better?

    This is a discussion on surely my speed should be better? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My stats. ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 9093 kbps 764 kbps Line Attenuation 28.0 db 12.9 db Noise Margin ...

    1. #1
      xboxspares's Avatar
      xboxspares is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brentwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      surely my speed should be better?

      My stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9093 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 12.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 15.5 db

      should I contact tier3 support? and if so how?

      Thanks in advance

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      dont call Sky - there isn't tier 3 anymore by the way, 2 & 3 merged to CST last year - its your end where the issues are. are you on an extention?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      Quote Originally Posted by xboxspares View Post
      My stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9093 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 12.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 15.5 db

      Ben
      with your attenuation and a perfect line, you should get the full whack
      looking at your stats it would seem there is a problem on your line
      if your noise margin had been alot higher it would have suggested you had been "capped" at a lower speed, but your noise marging is low
      (there is a much better explanation in the 3rd link of my sig)

      as asked above do you connect via an extention lead ?
      (easy way to rule out your home wiring would be a comparison set of stats from the "test" socket if you have one, see the first link in my sig)

    5. #4
      xboxspares's Avatar
      xboxspares is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brentwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      Didn't get a reply for this.

      I am using filtered face plate in the (what would be) master socket. The only think is it looks like I have on of those old master boxes that come in he house first then off to what would be the master socket.

      I hate BT with a vengeance!

      Daft question I know but do you think he cable from the pole to my house will still be ok? I will just move the cable and put a new socket in (I am fully aware of the legalities of this)

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      YOU hate BT!!. Iv'e worked for them for forty years and they only hung me the right way up yesterday. (apologies to life of brian).

      Anyway if you know what you are doing I would get a NTE-5 master and a filter faceplate and wire all your extensions off that and scrap the rest of it. You could then run your router from that.

    7. #6
      xboxspares's Avatar
      xboxspares is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brentwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      well I opened up the old point of entry in my house (looks lke a spliter), you must know what I mean? Looks like the wire to my house is bell wire (if you can imagine what that looks lke) I hate to say it but I think I will get them out and re-wire from the pole to my house and get it done properly and hopefully get the full wack!

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      Careful on that one. If you call BT out for a voice fault (I assume this is what you want to do?) then even if you have cut or danaged the cable right up where it joins your home, you will not get a new overhead. All that will happen is a new length will be joined to the old overhead.
      If you want a new overhead, you may have to pay for it. OR you could beg the Openreach person who comes.

      I will prob regreat asking this, but why do you hate BT so much? Just give me a sec to get behind the bunker before you start.
      Last edited by Brian69; 13-02-08 at 07:37 PM.

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      (apologies to life of brian).
      i just got the monty box set from asda for 17, can't wait to watch them

    10. #9
      xboxspares's Avatar
      xboxspares is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brentwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Careful on that one. If you call BT out for a voice fault (I assume this is what you want to do?) then even if you have cut or danaged the cable right up where it joins your home, you will not get a new overhead. All that will happen is a new length will be joined to the old overhead.
      If you want a new overhead, you may have to pay for it. OR you could beg the Openreach person who comes.

      I will prob regreat asking this, but why do you hate BT so much? Just give me a sec to get behind the bunker before you start.
      I am quite happy to pay for them to come out and run new wire.

      The reason I hate them so much is for years they made so much profit as they were the only provider around but none of that money went back into the system! I shouldn't have to call them out and pay for the new wire they should be giving us a free upgrade!?!

      off the soap box

      the last open reach bloke was very nice and did the whole thing for 50 if you take my meaning

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: surely my speed should be better?

      Well as always it's not that simple. When I joined what was GPO Telephones, calls were more expensive in real terms, most people did not have a phone, and the wait for a Shaired service line (this was where up to 3 homes shaired one line) was a min of SIX months. Exchanges were in desperate need of investment, but the phones were a low priority for govenments of the time.
      Without privatisation and BT there would be digital trunk network, prob no internet outside urban centres. Their has been more investment in the phone system in the last twenty years than I had ever seen before.

      O.k rant over.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION