Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Not Max

    This is a discussion on Not Max within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; http speedtests won't always give you a true representation of your speed. Try downloading ftp://anonymous:@ftp.mirror.ac.uk:21...02-install.iso and then see what your ...

    1. #11
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      http speedtests won't always give you a true representation of your speed. Try downloading ftp://anonymous:@ftp.mirror.ac.uk:21...02-install.iso and then see what your speed holds at. Use a FTP client or IE, not firefox.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      p45769's Avatar
      p45769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i am getting about 1.24 MB/s

    4. #13
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      1.24Mb/s is fine depending on how you view it. Your connection is running at about 12mb, and since you're synced at 15 you could probably download more and use the remaning bandwidth

    5. #14
      p45769's Avatar
      p45769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Being a noob to broadband I am not sure how you get to this but i assume this is a quick connection. Would tweaking the tcp program help to download more? Maybe its me not understanding all these kilobits and kilobytes malarkey...on this note me kilobits reading on speedtest.net resulted in the following...is this any good?

      Last edited by p45769; 18-09-06 at 11:50 PM. Reason: needed to add a comment

    6. #15
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes, it's a quick connection, and tweaking the TCP settings may add a few hundred kb/s to your download speed. I doubt you'll ever see your full/potential speed measured on speedtest sites since they're all different

    7. #16
      jtumath's Avatar
      jtumath is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey 0151 639 xxxx
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by OhNoes View Post
      You should get quite a lot faster than that attenuation. Have you tried the master socket and made sure there's a microfilter on everything?

      The master socket is not an option for cat5
      And I already had filters on all sockets from my pipex days.


      John..

    8. #17
      jtumath's Avatar
      jtumath is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey 0151 639 xxxx
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Oh dear
      the plot thickens

      Just rang TS they tell me there is a fault with the exchange and there are no connections ????????????????????????????????????????????????

      Ring back in 24 hours to see if sorted

      Looks like my broadband is free at the moment so may be should not complain to much.
      John..

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION