Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 47

    Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

    This is a discussion on Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Miracle_Boy66 but they found I'd only get an extra 400kbps extra so It's not really worth my ...

    1. #31
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Quote Originally Posted by Miracle_Boy66 View Post
      but they found I'd only get an extra 400kbps extra so It's not really worth my while.
      No - something is wrong there.

      You're syncing at a capped speed of 8096kbps with a noise margin of 11.9db on G.DMT according to the stats you posted. Your router is reporting a max rate of 9952kbps. That figure shows that you'd get at least 9250kbps uncapped on G.DMT let alone on ADSL2+.

      With a noise margin of 5db to play with (11.9 - 6.9) it's just not possible that you'd only get 400k more speed uncapped. Did the T3 (CST) say that the errors were too high to get more speed or that was all your line was capable of? The latter certainly isn't true and I have doubts about the former going from your stats.

      Your attenuation on G.DMT is 33db. On ADSL2+ this would rise to ~36db. As an example, that's only 1db higher than mine and I sync at ~13000kbps - and my line isn't particularly good.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Hi Saturday,

      Interesting!! The Later, i.e. That's all my line can handle is exactly what the CST told me was the problem. I did not realise I was capped at all as I'm not technically up to understanding what all the stats actualy mean (As you will have figured out)

      As I'm still on the cooling off period just now, I left my package on MAX till I decide eheather to downgrade again but I must admit I'd much rather stick with it if I can get this sorted out. Any Suggestions on what I should sday if I can get back through to T3 again??

      I could post stasts again but they will only be a few hours old as rebooting the router was one of the processes I went through before I got put through to T3 so they won't be much use.

      I had thought, even with my limited knowledge, that I should be getting better down speeds, I can't think why they would have capped my line. Why would they do that with my stats as they look o.k.?

    4. #33
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      UPDATE!! FFS, I don't beleive it!! They have made things worse!!! What the hell are they doing to me!! I was happy enough with 6500kbps on Mid, Now I'm on max, They cap me at 5000kbps??? (results for speedtest.net)

      It's not like I had loads of errors or anything & it was stable too, I guess I'll need to get back on them again anyway!!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5952 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 21.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.8 8.8
      Max(Kbps): 9792 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 5952 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 187(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 187 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0851 8.6153
      L: 1504 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4762 4760
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 323870 40460
      RSCorr: 25 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1136169 0
      Data Cells: 260 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 1 min 49 sec
      SF = 4762
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 49 sec
      SF = 4762
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 49 sec
      SF = 4762
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by Miracle_Boy66; 10-02-08 at 05:58 PM.

    5. #34
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Quote Originally Posted by Miracle_Boy66 View Post
      I guess I'll need to get back on them again
      Looks like it

      Sky really can be a nightmare. Sometimes they're great, other times they just seem to make a problem worse through ignorance. If you've got a problem with your line/connection (doubtful in your case) they need to tell you about it not mess around with it.

      And I'm tired of Sky apologists saying it's a bargain consumer product, you have to put up with these things. Wake up Sky, BE/O2 is going to eat your dinner. They're certainly close to getting my business.

    6. #35
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Hi Saturday,

      Thanks for the moral support!! Can you confirm from my stats thst I've been capped, again!! Just so I am sure when I phone them tomorrow. My gut tells me to go through them like a tone of bricks but I doubt that would get me anywhere. I wish I'd never bothered upgrading to max now. Yes, I know, You told me so!! I just can't beleive there incompetance!!

      I think that perhaps the T3 guy has looked at what their system says my line is capable off & capped me accordingly, But given that I was getting 6500 - 7000kbps at the start of last week (and for the last 4 months) my line is clearly capable of more. I tried to tell them that very politely & that's what you get!! It's funny, I checked my stats straight after I spoke the the T3 guy & they were fine i.e. just the same. Came back a few hours leter & found i've been capped. Shocking!!!

      Sorry mate, I'm ranting now!!

    7. #36
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Yes you're capped, You're on G.DMT capped at 5952kbps. There's no question that you are capped. two things demonstrate this: the huge difference between your router reported max rate and your actual rate plus your high noise margin.

      As you've probably deduced there's no point trying to discuss this with T1, by and large their training and understanding is woeful. CST (was T3) seems to be a mixed bag - some are truly excellent and these tend to be the old Easynet techs, others are not so good and appear to be newly promoted T1s and of course the old T2s who can't seem to get their head around LLU rather than Connect which they are used to.

      In the absence of other evidence your line condition appears to be suitable to support an ADSL2+ connection of ~12000kbps. Persevere until you get a CST (T3) who either confirms that this is what you should have or who is able to offer evidence (evidence not opinion e.g. line errors) that your line can't support this with a stable connection.
      Last edited by Saturday; 11-02-08 at 12:08 AM.

    8. #37
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Hi Saturday,

      I phoned sky again today & after I got past T1 & onto T3 I spoke to a very nice Tech that actually listened to my problem & tried lots of different things to get better results.

      In the end he had to capped my line at 8096Kbps as he said the it just would not sync any higher than that & he felt that ADSL+2 would not suit my line length.

      The stats bellow show I'm back up to 8096kbps but I now have more CRC's than I had before but those maybe due to the fact that the CST was sending large packets to my router whiloe I was steaming youtube video's to try & see if that would create any line errors.

      I'm now getting a consistant 7000kbps when I go to speedtest.net & I'm happy with that, I'm going to stay on Max as at least I have no download limit that way + I'd rather not start messing about with things again now that it's working as it was before they screwed me up yesterday.

      Thanks again, without your support I would have not have been able to explain in technical terms what my problem was & would no doubt be in right a pickle as a result.

      You are a credit to this forum sir!!!, Without which, many, many people would be in the dark about problems with their Sky BB.

      This forum, and in particular the people like yourself that support it are a godsend to sky customers!!!

      so..... THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH!!!!!!!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 22.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.9
      Max(Kbps): 9888 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 14
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 187 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0851 8.6153
      L: 1504 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 131619 131617
      SFErr: 1 0
      RS: 17900302 559372
      RSCorr: 137 2
      RSUnCorr: 71 0

      HEC: 1 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 42736301 0
      Data Cells: 380467 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 0
      SES: 3 0
      UAS: 69 0
      Total time = 16 hours 7 min 17 sec
      SF = 3408069
      CRC = 288
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 1 day time = 16 hours 7 min 17 sec
      SF = 3408069
      CRC = 288
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 17 sec
      SF = 25759
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52929
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49636
      CRC = 287
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    9. #38
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Happy to have helped a bit - sorry you didn't quite get the result you hoped for.

      That's curious about your router not being able to sync above 8096kbps on ADSL2+. Can't see that it's anything to do with line length (attenuation) and you have plenty of noise margin to spare. I guess it's just one of those things. There must be some specific issue with your line characteristics. I really can't think what that could be though and I don't understand why that's not reflected in your stats (e.g. your router reported max rate).

      Those errors are nothing to worry about. They're well within an acceptable amount.

      There is one small problem though. They've left you on the upstream speed for Mid. Sure you're not back on it?

    10. #39
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      ive seen lines with attenuations in single figures not going above 6Mbps on adsl2+ so it does happen from time to time...goes to show that the theory of low attenuation=fast speeds is just that!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #40
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      ive seen lines with attenuations in single figures not going above 6Mbps on adsl2+
      Sure - if the line is very noisy but his isn't. Check the noise margin in his stats and the router reported max rate. Any explanation for that?

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION