Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 47

    Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

    This is a discussion on Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Sorry, These stats were taken a few days ago & will provide better info on CRC errors. Are there ...

    1. #21
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Hi, Sorry, These stats were taken a few days ago & will provide better info on CRC errors. Are there enough for sky to say I can't have ADSL2+?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 384 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 21.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 9888 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 384
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 13
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 255 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 2048 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 18776600 18776598
      SFErr: 366 186
      RS: 2553617704 79800541
      RSCorr: 712262 2964
      RSUnCorr: 4516 0

      HEC: 276 68
      OCD: 1 66
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 1799986772 0
      Data Cells: 3639718 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2177 0
      SES: 372 0
      UAS: 278 0
      Total time = 1 days 23 hours 12 min 18 sec
      SF = 18778775
      CRC = 507
      LOS = 18
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2177
      Latest 1 day time = 23 hours 12 min 18 sec
      SF = 4913885
      CRC = 72
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 18 sec
      SF = 43462
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082263
      CRC = 147
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 70
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Again, Thanks!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Quote Originally Posted by Miracle_Boy66 View Post
      Are there enough for sky to say I can't have ADSL2+?
      Your connection is fine i.e. the errors are quite low.

      However, if when you move to ADSL2+ those errors will go up. It's impossible to say by how much - all you can do is try it and see. I expect they'll still be fine and if not Sky can always cap your speed a little to boost the noise margin.

      BUT there is one obvious problem. You're on Mid and a) there's no advantage to being on ADSL2+ (same speed, possibly lower stability) and b) Sky won't put a Mid customer on it.

      Why do you want ADSL2+? If you're after more speed you'll have to move to Max. You're already at the top speed for Mid.

    4. #23
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Your connection is fine i.e. the errors are quite low.

      However, if when you move to ADSL2+ those errors will go up. It's impossible to say by how much - all you can do is try it and see. I expect they'll still be fine and if not Sky can always cap your speed a little to boost the noise margin.

      BUT there is one obvious problem. You're on Mid and a) there's no advantage to being on ADSL2+ (same speed, possibly lower stability) and b) Sky won't put a Mid customer on it.

      Why do you want ADSL2+? If you're after more speed you'll have to move to Max. You're already at the top speed for Mid.
      Hi Mate, Sorry, Should have added the little bit of text to this post as well as the one I posted previously with useless stats!!

      I phoned Sky on Wednesday night & asked them to upgrade to too the MAX package. They said it may take up to 72 hours to upgrade me, this time has now passed. I phoned them again earlier on tonight, they told me I am now on MAX.

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Max(Kbps): 9952 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      The 768 shows you are on MAX

      edit I see your stats above are from the other day, the ones you provided before these on this page show me you are on Max
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 09-02-08 at 10:14 PM.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #25
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Newsreader,

      Hi, Yes, right, The stats I posted that you created a link too) are my latest stats. After reading another thread, I then realised that to be able to get any usefull info relating to my ADSL2+ question, I'd need stats that were spread over a longer time preiod so I posted the stats from the previous time I'd taken them (after talking to sky on Wednesday) They looked more ore less the same too me apart from the timescale. That's why I thought that they would be more usefull.
      I appologise for the confusion. Should I leave it for 24 hours & then post latest stats again?

      Thanks!!!

    7. #26
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      I would yes, give a better picture.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #27
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      O.K. Will Do!!

      Thanks!!

    9. #28
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Doubt they'll tell you much. Looking at your Max stats, your downstream connection is identical to your Mid connection - same sync, near enough same noise margin. There's no reason to believe the errors will be any different from your other set. All they've done is change your package which has given you a higher upstream. Everything else about your connection is the same.

      As before, that high noise margin will be suppressing any line errors so my earlier comments still apply i.e. until you're uncapped and put on ADSL2+ you won't know how the connection will hold up. I suspect it will be fine.

    10. #29
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Hi Saturday/Newreader,

      Well, I've had a look at my stats again. Just past 18 Hours & I've only got 40 CRC errors which is consistent at least.

      Saturday,

      When I phoned sky yesterday, the bloke I spoke to didn't seem to know what I was taling about when I mentioned about going on to ADSL2+ instead of G.DMT. Do I need to talk to Tier 3 to get them to move me to ADLS2+?

      THANKS!!

    11. #30
      Miracle_Boy66's Avatar
      Miracle_Boy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSHAM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Hamilton
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Tell me I've been upgraded from connect to the Mid package?

      Hi,

      Just got through to Tier 3. I asked them to try ADSL2+ & they did but they found I'd only get an extra 400kbps extra so It's not really worth my while. I may well just stick with max as the unlimited download limit may be handy at times. Bit of a bummer thuogh!!

      AGAIN, THANKS FOR YOU HELP, IT'S MUCH APPRECIATED!!

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION