Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

    This is a discussion on Too CLOSE to Exchange?! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hope someone can advise. At my old flat, which was about 850m (as crow flies) from the Exchange (Leeds), I ...

    1. #1
      Nicolopolus's Avatar
      Nicolopolus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rothwell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Hope someone can advise.

      At my old flat, which was about 850m (as crow flies) from the Exchange (Leeds), I was getting speeds of about 12Mb, up to 14Mb (on Max package obviously).

      However, after moving to a house last November, which is about 80m from the exchange (Rothwell) I'm only getting speeds of about 6.5Mb. I was foolishly under the impression that I'd get the same, if not higher, speeds than before?!

      I realise there's more to it than distance from exchange, but is there anything I can do to improve this? Spoke to a senior tech support guy and he said he has noticed this with other people too (well, he would say that). I read on another website that I am maybe not getting enough noise and I should try to connect without the microfilters? (if so, how do I do this?).

      Any ideas?

      Thanks,
      Nick


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Too close to the exchange? Not enough noise? I don't think so

      I don't know what website you refer to but if the advice is to remove your filters to improve your connection speed, I'd give that site a miss in future.

      To start the ball rolling, please answer the following:

      • are you wired or wireless?
      • How is your router connected (e.g. master, extension etc)?
      • what are your router connection stats (attenuation, noise margin and sync)?
      • which router are you using?

    4. #3
      Nicolopolus's Avatar
      Nicolopolus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rothwell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Thanks Saturday.

      1) Wired
      2) The router is connected to the master socket (speed is same using test socket also)
      3) Router stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7968 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 4.0 db 6.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.8 db 13.0 db

      4) Router model is White DG834GT

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Good grief 4db - I think that's the lowest (best) attenuation I've ever seen

      There's definitely a problem with your line. With that attenuation your router should be easily syncing higher than 7968kbps. Looking at your noise margin, there's a possibility that you've been capped, though quite lightly as the noise margin isn't all that high. As you've got the old V1 router it's very easy to get your detailed router stats. Look in the router forum for the link - use Mognuts. When you have the detailed stats, post them and I'll be able to tell you whether you are capped and what your line errors are like. BTW if you are capped then the test socket will give the same sync but probably much better noise margin. If so then the wiring problem is with your internal phone wiring not the BT line.

      With regard to low download speeds there are a number of possible reasons:

      • wireless quality (not the issue here as you're wired)
      • overloaded test server (try the Skyuser one)
      • incorrect TCP/IP settings (see the second link in my signature)
      • gross line errors (need to see your detailed stats)
      • other traffic using the bandwidth (e.g. other LAN users, malware etc)


      BUT, I doubt any of the above apply. You're syncing at 7968kbps. Allowing for TCP/IP overheads you'd expect download speeds of ~6375kbps which is what you're getting

      When you sort out whatever line problems are causing the low sync (it's not just a possible cap) then your connection should be excellent and when on ADSL2+ easily achieve 16meg with a very healthy noise margin.
      Last edited by Saturday; 29-01-08 at 06:29 PM.

    6. #5
      Nicolopolus's Avatar
      Nicolopolus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rothwell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Here are the detailed router stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7968 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.9 13.0
      Attn(dB): 4.0 6.0
      Pwr(dBm): 15.8 6.9
      Max(Kbps): 9504 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 7968 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 250(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 250 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0478 8.6153
      L: 2008 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 220778 220776
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 30025842 1876596
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 70542220 0
      Data Cells: 111575 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 1 hours 3 min 8 sec
      SF = 220778
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 3 min 8 sec
      SF = 220778
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 8 sec
      SF = 11057
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52871
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      I'll try plugging into the test socket later to see if there's any difference in the noise margin.

      Thanks for your help.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Yes, looks like you are lightly capped (test socket sync/nm will confirm or not). Very strange figure though - 7968kbps. Normally on G.DMT you'd see 8096kbps.

      Zero line errors showing. Even though 1 hour 3 min is a bit short I'd be surprised if the errors would rise much. The high noise margin you have will be helping of course but basically, with such a low attenuation, things would have to be pretty bad to generate many errors.

      Can't think why you're not on ADSL2+. Let's see what your test socket stats reveal.

    8. #7
      Nicolopolus's Avatar
      Nicolopolus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rothwell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      These are the figures from the test socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7968 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 3.0 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.2 db 13.0 db

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Marginal difference so if there is any noise on your line then it's the BT line.

      I'd have thought your noise margin would be a fair bit higher than it is for your sync. Could be noise but could just be that's the way it is with such a low attenuation.

      My recommendation would be to get Sky to put you on ADSL2+. Don't suffer having to go through T1 and the troubleshooting unless you are feeling masochistic. Contact them through email or the online form they have. Just ask to be moved to ADSL2+ as you're very close to the exchange and you believe your line is suitable. Don't bother with your stats etc, that just seems to confuse (some of) them.

      Good luck. Hopefully you should see a big improvement on ADSL2+.

    10. #9
      Nicolopolus's Avatar
      Nicolopolus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rothwell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      And the rest:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7968 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.2 13.0
      Attn(dB): 3.0 5.5
      Pwr(dBm): 15.8 7.2
      Max(Kbps): 9664 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 7968 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 250(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 250 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0478 8.6153
      L: 2008 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 27464 27462
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 3735176 233427
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 8766616 0
      Data Cells: 18150 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 0
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 67 0
      Total time = 2 hours 25 min 6 sec
      SF = 505895
      CRC = 170
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 25 min 6 sec
      SF = 505895
      CRC = 170
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 6 sec
      SF = 31463
      CRC = 170
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    11. #10
      Nicolopolus's Avatar
      Nicolopolus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rothwell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too CLOSE to Exchange?!

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Marginal difference so if there is any noise on your line then it's the BT line.

      I'd have thought your noise margin would be a fair bit higher than it is for your sync. Could be noise but could just be that's the way it is with such a low attenuation.

      My recommendation would be to get Sky to put you on ADSL2+. Don't suffer having to go through T1 and the troubleshooting unless you are feeling masochistic. Contact them through email or the online form they have. Just ask to be moved to ADSL2+ as you're very close to the exchange and you believe your line is suitable. Don't bother with your stats etc, that just seems to confuse (some of) them.

      Good luck. Hopefully you should see a big improvement on ADSL2+.
      Thanks Saturday, I'll give it a go!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION