Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Should I Email Sky Tech Support

    This is a discussion on Should I Email Sky Tech Support within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Okay All, I have had some great help from you guys and I would appreciate some more if you do ...

    1. #1
      Misplaced's Avatar
      Misplaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      Okay All,

      I have had some great help from you guys and I would appreciate some more if you do not mind.

      I am currently running a wireless setup with PC and Laptop. I have them networked so I can see the files one each and use the printer connected to my PC.

      The PC uses a Belkin USB wireless adapter and the laptop has a built in wireless receiver. The router is located in the lounge and is about 10 metres from the PC.

      I have the router connected via an extension from the Master Socket. I have done a quiet line test on the Master Socket and it is crystal clear. The Master Socket is of the old type (yellow capacitor/resistor). I have disconnected all wires apart from the blue/white wires. I have also run the Optimiser.

      What I would like to know is how can I get more speed?

      How do I know if my network is setup correctly? The reason I ask is that since I have done the network the connection on the PC keeps crashing out. Is this due to the network or the Belkin adapter? How can I tell if it is the adapter?

      I have also just let my son go back on World of Warcraft, on the PC, but keep losing connection. Also, just a side note the screen keeps going black and then back to the screen - what causes this? What should the port settings in the new Sagem for World of Warcraft. I think I have managed to do the firewall settings but would like a run through on how this should be done with the new router.

      Sorry for all the questions but I am going stir crazy.

      System Up Time: 76:14:49

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 544061 513436 0 80945 243630 2:14:03
      LAN 85 0 0 0 0 76:14:49
      WLAN 11309673 10072905 0 0 0 24:06:58
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6592 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 19.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 14.0 db

      I look forward to your replies,

      Mis


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      are the disconnects due to wireless signal or network error, or does the wireless symbol stay connected constantly trhoughout the entire time?

      when you are disconnected, can you access the routers config page? and if so, does it show up sync speed and an ip address?

      have you tried the bt test socket?

      can you get connected via ethernet to test?

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      I have the router connected via an extension from the Master Socket. I have done a quiet line test on the Master Socket and it is crystal clear. The Master Socket is of the old type (yellow capacitor/resistor). I have disconnected all wires apart from the blue/white wires. I have also run the Optimiser.
      if you are using wireless, why not have the router plugged into the master socket ?

    5. #4
      Misplaced's Avatar
      Misplaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      if you are using wireless, why not have the router plugged into the master socket ?
      I have tried the the router in the Master Socket and there is no difference, unfortunately.

      are the disconnects due to wireless signal or network error, or does the wireless symbol stay connected constantly trhoughout the entire time?
      The wireless signal is lost and then all strange things happen and the the wireless connection is lost totally. Could this be due to the adapter?

      have you tried the bt test socket?
      My master Socket is an old one and does not have a test socket.

      can you get connected via ethernet to test?
      Unforunately, i do not have an ethernet cable long enough. Out of curiosity how long do they do Ethernet cables?

      Cheers

      Mis

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      You can go up to 100 meters on ethernet without issue, places like maplin do various length cables.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      Sky won't offer you support for the wireless as you're not using Sky-supplied hardware...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      liondog's Avatar
      liondog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winsford MRWIN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      So Wouldn't be a lot easier for all concerned if Sky supplied a wireless adapter with the router as I'm sure most user use wireless to either connect to a PC/laptop or other wireless device.

      That way when having problems with wireless users could get support from sky.
      Surfin along nicely on sky BB max



    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      they do, they'll sell you one if you need it - in theory all should work but Sky only offer support for the one they supply...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      Sky can only support the equipment it supplies, if a customer buys the wireless device from Sky then they are fully supported, if customers use their own wireless devices we cannot support it as one mis-heard instruction or one mistake and a customers' PC setup can be messed up completely.
      Refering customers to the manufacturer for full and proper support for 3rd party apps and equipment is a safety precaution more than anything.

    11. #10
      liondog's Avatar
      liondog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winsford MRWIN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Email Sky Tech Support

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      they do, they'll sell you one if you need it - in theory all should work but Sky only offer support for the one they supply...
      Not looking to get hold of one, but just in case I'm ever asked how do you get hold of one of these elusive wireless adapters from Sky as the don't seem to let you know about them anywhere on the sky BB site (unless I missed that bit)

      Seems to be hit and miss with other adapters as my dlink adapter worked fine, but others on here using the same adapter had problems.
      Surfin along nicely on sky BB max



     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION