Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

    This is a discussion on Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just connected on Broadband MAX with a Sagem router with these figures shouldn't I be getting a better ...

    1. #1
      smeagol's Avatar
      smeagol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caversham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

      I have just connected on Broadband MAX with a Sagem router with these figures shouldn't I be getting a better connection speed.

      UPSTREAM: 8096kbps - ATT: 32.0 db - NOISE: 12.0db

      Downstream: 768 kbps - ATT: 18.5 db - Noise: 14.0 db

      From what i understand the noise and attenuation are very good and should enable the connection to be faster. I have just rebooted the router and the stats stayed similar.

      Any comments?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

      looks like you are set on Gdmt and not ADSL2+, you may want to wait for some confirmation from others, and then ring sky to get changed over

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

      yep, gdmt - upstream would show 764 not 768 if on adsl2+
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      skytsat1's Avatar
      skytsat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

      Quote Originally Posted by smeagol View Post
      I have just connected on Broadband MAX with a Sagem router with these figures shouldn't I be getting a better connection speed.

      UPSTREAM: 8096kbps - ATT: 32.0 db - NOISE: 12.0db

      Downstream: 768 kbps - ATT: 18.5 db - Noise: 14.0 db

      From what i understand the noise and attenuation are very good and should enable the connection to be faster. I have just rebooted the router and the stats stayed similar.

      Any comments?

      Thanks
      with att of 32 ur doin well to get the 8Mb try the test socket, if u r on G.dmt then ur line wont sync over 9Mb stably, should still sync in at 8192. if ur not using an extension cable an ur in the master socket then thts wat u should be getting. T3 wont be able to better it. att is line quality based on line length ur att shows tht ur between 2-2 1/2km from the exchnge (based on actual line length an not how far u have to walk to the exchange)
      i work for sky........

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

      ^ no it wont sync at 8192, overheads mean it shows as 8096...you could prob get 10Mbps on adsl2+...give CST (the old tier 2/3) a call and get them to give it a try...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be betting better speed than this

      Yes, generally the interleaving overhead.

      Your colleague seems to have some interesting ideas and opinions

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION