Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

    This is a discussion on New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I have just joined Sky BB from BT Total Broadband in the last couple of days. I am ...

    1. #1
      Misplaced's Avatar
      Misplaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      Hi All,

      I have just joined Sky BB from BT Total Broadband in the last couple of days.

      I am on SKY Max and everything was fine on day one with D/L speeds of about 522kbs this has now halved in the last couple of days.

      Can anyone explain why?

      With BT I was getting on average abot 400kbs when D/L and I was expecting to get a considerable improvement or was my optimism misplaced?

      I have run the optimzer but this did not help.

      Can someone take me through a step by step process to see what is wrong, please?

      I have only been on Sky 3 days. Could this be the reason?

      In anticipation.

      Misplaced.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      Quote Originally Posted by Misplaced View Post
      I have only been on Sky 3 days. Could this be the reason?
      No, you are on max, the training period only applies to the connect package.
      Post your router stats using the following link and someone will help out.
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4


    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      ^^^ does that work with the new routers ?

    5. #4
      Misplaced's Avatar
      Misplaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      dholdi or anyone,

      Here are my Router Stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2752 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 2.6 db 14.0 db

      Thanks

      Misplaced
      Last edited by Misplaced; 09-01-08 at 07:39 PM.

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2752 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 2.6 db 14.0 db
      you only need to post this bit, please edit your last post as it gives alot of info that no one else should see

      as to your stats, it looks bad, first thing to check is do you have filters on all items you plug into telephone sockets (Phones / Sky box ) you should have a filter before all items

      also are you using an telephone extention to plug the router into ?
      Last edited by richone54; 09-01-08 at 07:31 PM.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      ^^^ does that work with the new routers ?
      doh - no it doesnt - must stop reading posts at work and replying with one eye over my shoulder for the boss

      @ misplaced - as rich says u need to edit your post its giving to much personal info ie your ip and mac


    8. #7
      Misplaced's Avatar
      Misplaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      Richone54,

      I have ADSL filters on allmy phone sockets being used with other equipment.

      I am using wireless connection as I did with BT and as stated before my speeds were way different.

      I have just tried a reboot of the router and things are now much worse.

      System Up Time: 0:33:06

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2116 2172 0 81 92 0:14:33
      LAN 51 0 0 0 0 0:33:06
      WLAN 12893 9549 0 152 109 0:32:45
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1344 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 21.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 10.0 db

      I amwaiting to be connected to Sky talk as well which should be done tomorrow. Also I have just tried the phone and there is no normal dial tone and when I try ringing the house number it states that it is busy and that diverts are in place.

      Please help.

      Misplaced

      PS I have edited my last post and thanks for the heads up.

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      first thing i would do is unplug everything, then just plug your phone in and make sure it works

      next i would do a test from the master socket (see first link in my sig)

      could you post back with stats, it does sound to me like a filter problem, but if there is no diff when nothing plugged in it may be something to do with the line

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      must stop reading posts at work and replying with one eye over my shoulder for the boss
      LOL

      I have the same prob, anyone walking in from the factory can see what i'm doing before i see them coming

    11. #10
      Misplaced's Avatar
      Misplaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - Good D/L Now halved

      Rich,

      I do not seem to have a socket the as the one shown. When I remove the faceplate there is no Test Socket.

      I have just plugged the Router in with no other connections and these are my stats: -

      System Up Time: 1:06:37

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 114 97 0 0 0 0:01:33
      LAN 51 0 0 0 0 1:06:37
      WLAN 28894 21853 0 0 0 1:06:16
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1408 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 21.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 10.0 db

      I have changed the filter and it doesn't seem to have changed anything.

      I have tried the phone and no joy!!

      Misplaced

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION