Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Moved house, terrible connection

    This is a discussion on Moved house, terrible connection within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i all, The problem I have is this, I had Sky BB at my old house, about 100 metres down ...

    1. #1
      musicboy80s's Avatar
      musicboy80s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maltby
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moved house, terrible connection

      i all,

      The problem I have is this, I had Sky BB at my old house, about 100 metres down the road, at approx 5 - 6 meg with an ADSL Nation faceplate.

      Sky took 3 months to sort out my new connection when I moved house - apparently there was a problem disconnecting the old signal even though the whole line was disconnected .. at the new house I had to pay BT a new line fee of around 100 because the previous tenants had TalkTalk but cancelled that, so it was back to square one. Eventually last week my Sky BB was activated after many escalations ... however they said I should be able to get up to 8 Meg (same exchange) but my connection speed is actually about 400k - aargh!

      I have plugged the router directly into the master socket (but using the extension as the router is the other side of the room), this makes no difference, and I have tried a different extension and different filter, still get 400-odd. Help please !!

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 416 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 18.7 13.0
      Attn(dB): 50.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.0 2.5
      Max(Kbps): 480 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 416 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 16 16
      D: 8 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 14 14
      M: 16 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 17.0666 17.0666
      L: 120 120
      D: 8 8
      Counters
      SF: 8818 8816
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 37482 37468
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 147103 0
      Data Cells: 3393 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      you've been severly capped by Sky - im assuming it didnt work at all last time you called?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      musicboy80s's Avatar
      musicboy80s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maltby
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      Thanks for the reply, why would I be capped do you reckon ? I basically had to chase them up loads to get 'updates', in the end I was connecting via my mobile and eventually the 'my sky' page said I could order broadband again, so I did, pretty much as a new customer, and I have kind of given my connection a few days to settle down (as I reckon if I'd called Sky up they would say to do the same anyway) but after several reboots of the router things aren't changing.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      the high SNR is the give away - it shouldn't be that high unless capped by Sky (which makes for a stable connection albeit slower than otherwise attainable)

      you ideally need to get to CST to get the cap removed and set the line to its optimum speed - just makes sure when you do call that you're in the master/test socket otherwise they'll just ask you to move it anyway
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      musicboy80s's Avatar
      musicboy80s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maltby
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      OK mate, can't understand why I would be capped after being (re)sold the mid package ... oh well eh. Thanks for the info, I will ring them on Tuesday when I have the time to be on hold for hours hehe

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      Maybe at your new address the line conditions were not good enough for full speed service? Possibly when you ordered there was something going on with the line that made them think there was a problem. Only way to sort it would be to call in, go through T1 and have them raise a speed and config issue ticket but you will need to grin and bear it for troubleshooting first so that T1 can issue the ticket.

    8. #7
      musicboy80s's Avatar
      musicboy80s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maltby
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      Well chuff me, I look up the tech support number but first I think, no I will just bung the router back into the master socket and reboot .. now I get these stats at approx 4 meg but with a rubbish download speed - the plot thickens !

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4288 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 50.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 0.9
      Max(Kbps): 4864 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 4288 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 135(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 135 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1176 17.0666
      L: 1088 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 26464 26462
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1799570 112463
      RSCorr: 4760 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 4554105 0
      Data Cells: 182013 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 21 0

    9. #8
      musicboy80s's Avatar
      musicboy80s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maltby
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house, terrible connection

      Well chuff me again ... this morning I shoved the phone wire back in the outer socket and lo, the speed is back to 400k-odd. So I bung it back into the master socket and reboot (nothing else has changed) and I get close to 6meg which is more than I got last night - is the wiring to my outer socket that crap that the master gives me 12x faster connection !? LOL / cry !

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5824 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.9
      Max(Kbps): 6432 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 5824 416

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION