Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New User - Help Please

    This is a discussion on New User - Help Please within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i've recently joined, and after only 1 days connection with the a netgear router, a complete loss of internet connection ...

    1. #1
      monkeymick's Avatar
      monkeymick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New User - Help Please

      i've recently joined, and after only 1 days connection with the a netgear router, a complete loss of internet connection meant that after 2 weeks i finaly recieved a new router today.

      This time ive got a Sagem one. I used to get 4Meg with BT Broadband and SKy said i should get the same....

      Ive run a speed test today, and it showed only 112kbps download speed....

      Ive copied all the other jargon that ive seen people post........any help would be great before i start pulling my hair out again..



      System Up Time: 0:35:44

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6400 6790 0 0 0 0:30:13
      LAN 11039 9781 0 0 0 0:35:44
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:35:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 135 kbps 133 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 26.1 db
      Noise Margin 23.4 db 25.5 db

      Poll Interval: (secs)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      could you advise on your set up, are you wireless / where do you have the router plugged in (master socket / extention)

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      When you called about your connection and had a new router sent our do you know if they tried capping your line first? Had a similar call tonight and the line was still capped and hadn't been reset.

    5. #4
      monkeymick's Avatar
      monkeymick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      Hi, im not sure if the line is capped? is the only way to tell by phoning them?

      im connected via the normal ethernet wires as i want to try it like this for a month or so before i try wireless........its connected straight into the master socket using the filter that came with the sagem box.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      Quote Originally Posted by monkeymick View Post
      im not sure if the line is capped?
      Oh, you're capped, trust me.

      Quote Originally Posted by monkeymick View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 135 kbps 133 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 26.1 db
      Noise Margin 23.4 db 25.5 db
      I'm betting your full router stats would show your max rate as much higher than 135kbps.
      Last edited by Saturday; 05-12-07 at 11:21 PM.

    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New User - Help Please

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Oh, you're capped, trust me.

      I'm betting your full router stats would show your max rate as much higher than 135kbps.
      But the 64k dollar question is ... how do we get the full stats out of the new routers?

    8. #7
      monkeymick's Avatar
      monkeymick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      thanks, ill give them a call when im at home and let you know....
      cheers

    9. #8
      monkeymick's Avatar
      monkeymick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      Well well well...
      quick phone call confirmed i had been capped, slick service this time of the morning....
      speeds increased slightly

      System Up Time: 9:37:33

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 285 373 0 0 0 0:03:05
      LAN 25366 21895 0 0 0 9:37:33
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 9:37:11
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5119 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 26.1 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 14.5 db


      Magic...cheers for all your help

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      you're not on Base then....

      also, don't know why your on ADSL2+ - it'll lead to problems in future...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      monkeymick's Avatar
      monkeymick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User - Help Please

      How do you know im on adsl2+
      and what problems can that give me?
      thanks by the way
      and ive amended my profile...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION