Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

    This is a discussion on SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I've not been around for a while but while tinkering tonight I noticed that my speeds have dropped ...

    1. #1
      joe1978's Avatar
      joe1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ryton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      Hi there, I've not been around for a while but while tinkering tonight I noticed that my speeds have dropped from about 4Mb down 400Kb up to what they are on the stats below. Any idea what teh problem is and how to sort it? BTW my router is plugged into an extension as whoever put my house together put the master socket in the furthest (sp?) corner of the house with no plugs anywhere near!!!

      thanks muchness

      joe

      stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1632 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 52.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.2 5.1
      Max(Kbps): 1792 960
      Rate (Kbps): 1632 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 52(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 16
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 52 14
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.3018 17.0666
      L: 424 120
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 60279 60277
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1024758 256177
      RSCorr: 11318 80
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3946512 0
      Data Cells: 149051 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 22 0
      SES: 22 0
      UAS: 42 0
      Total time = 18 min 11 sec
      SF = 60279
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 25
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      Latest 1 day time = 18 min 11 sec
      SF = 60279
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 25
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 11 sec
      SF = 11233
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49046
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 20
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      you havent been capped. i would be more likely to blame it on the extension.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      ^^ i agree, you could have a look at the cabling and face thread and see if you may be up to putting a ADSL faceplate and then the correct cat 5 cable run to the computer

      (or the cheaper way is just to replace the telephone extention you have but this will degrade as the last one did)

    5. #4
      joe1978's Avatar
      joe1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ryton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      Thanks guys, well if I haven't been capped there's no point in me going crying to sky I suppose. I'll have to look at my home cabling arrangements.

      joe

    6. #5
      joe1978's Avatar
      joe1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ryton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      Well....
      still wasn't happy with my connection speed so I chanced my arm and raised a fault with BT. They found a fault and sorted it today hey presto downstream rate seems excellent am I missing something here or is too good to be true??...

      ta

      joe

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7392 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 27.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 8000 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 7392 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 232(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 59 14
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.2666 17.0666
      L: 480 120
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 1037847 1037845
      SFErr: 47347 188
      RS: 70573612 4410841
      RSCorr: 30928621 694
      RSUnCorr: 317203 0

      HEC: 44226 116
      OCD: 1 2
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 307214926 0
      Data Cells: 6874 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4410 0
      SES: 1959 0
      UAS: 190 0
      Total time = 1 days 14 hours 32 min 33 sec
      SF = 8147458
      CRC = 54339
      LOS = 1603
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4410
      Latest 1 day time = 14 hours 32 min 33 sec
      SF = 3066786
      CRC = 52966
      LOS = 963
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3772
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 33 sec
      SF = 9057
      CRC = 1693
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 106
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 10802
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 456
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5080672
      CRC = 1373
      LOS = 640
      LOF = 0
      ES = 638
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 4249
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 344
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2798
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 238
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3918
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 129

    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      ^^^ Whatever BT did reduced your line attenuation from 52 to 43db but although you are now getting almost the max speed for connect, the noise margin is very low and there are loads of CRC errors.

      My guess is that they will eventually reduce the speed by capping the line to stablise it, but they have certainly sorted something out for you.

      Also it would be worth checking that extension to see if the ring wire is connected on terminal 3 of the faceplate/master socket. If so, diconnect it and you may get an immediate improvement.
      Last edited by eyemdee; 03-12-07 at 07:02 PM.

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      thats a good change, as eyemdee says if you could just clean up your internal wiring all should be goo in the hood

      P.S your on mid

    9. #8
      joe1978's Avatar
      joe1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ryton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      Thanks richone and eyemdee, yep been on mid since may this year, no complaints really. just need to work on getting my speeds sorted so I can watch heroes season 2 online

      joe

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      heroes season 2
      What a show

      you should also check out dexter

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Ssssllllloooooooooww down

      you're on Mid, not Connect....

      Heroes Season 2 FTW!!!!

      also, errors are pretty bad so id give it a shot in ur master socket and see how it goes...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION