Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Help for new connection please

    This is a discussion on Help for new connection please within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi First post! I have found all the posts that i have read really helpful so far so thanks to ...

    1. #1
      paddy's Avatar
      paddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help for new connection please

      Hi

      First post! I have found all the posts that i have read really helpful so far so thanks to all out there but still would appreciate some help in working out why i cant get better download speeds.

      I have just connected to sky mid (8 meg) and never seem to get anything over 750kbps on the speed tests (bbmax gives me the best stats). i have run tcp optimizer, defraged my hard drive etc but cant ever get over the 750kbps mark at any time of the day.

      i have noticed that even when i am not connected (according to the connection status button on the router homepage) the router still displays a downstream connection of 8096Kbps??

      thanks for any help or suggestions
      My detailed stats are below:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.0 13.0
      Attn(dB): 15.0 13.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 10272 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 14
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 17.0666
      L: 2040 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 31522 31520
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 4287064 133960
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 10225337 0
      Data Cells: 67443 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 9 min 22 sec
      SF = 31522
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 22 sec
      SF = 31522
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 22 sec
      SF = 31522
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      Quote Originally Posted by paddy View Post
      Hi

      i have noticed that even when i am not connected (according to the connection status button on the router homepage) the router still displays a downstream connection of 8096Kbps??
      Hi

      I assume from the above you mean that when you dont have internet explorer ( or whatever you use ) open then this is what the router page shows ?
      If so then that is fine as the router is synced with the exchange 24/7 so that is normal.
      As to your problem - i'm a little confused as ther does not seem to be any problem with your stats although they do relate to a very short connection period - try getting them again tomorrow and post back.
      Welcome aboard
      dave


    4. #3
      paddy's Avatar
      paddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      Thanks for the swift reply dave!

      i will post some stats tomorrow. i was sure the router was working and synced with the exchange ok at 8096kbps but just cant seem to get decent download speeds on the speed tests.

      with regards to the no connection bit - when i look under the section of the router administration page titled "router status" it shows this:
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 8096 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps

      however it still shows this even when the modem is not connected (as indicated by bounce sky router and the router's connection status button on the same page as the above stats)

      cheers
      paddy

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      np m8, tho still not quite sure what you mean, can u post a screenshot ?


    6. #5
      paddy's Avatar
      paddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      will do tomorrow with the stats as my photoshop skills are not up to much!!

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      np m8 - i'm sure we will get to the bottom of it


    8. #7
      paddy's Avatar
      paddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      hi

      sorry for the delay - it took a bit longer than i expected.

      here are the detailed stats. as you can see despite leaving the router on the connection droped at some point.

      with regards to the earlier query there is a screen grab attached.

      what i meant was that when the router says the modem is disconnected (as indicated by the areas circled in black and red) the area circled in blue shows a downstream rate of 8096kbps still - how is this possible? i suspect this reveals some fundamental misunderstanding on my part but would appreciate your help.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 15.0 13.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 10304 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 14
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 17.0666
      L: 2040 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 7940917 7940915
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1079964768 33748888
      RSCorr: 63 12
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2577650319 0
      Data Cells: 675723 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 25 0
      Total time = 1 days 13 hours 30 min 38 sec
      SF = 7940917
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 30 min 38 sec
      SF = 2861008
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 38 sec
      SF = 2235
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5079909
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Attached Images Attached Images

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      I assume you couldn't get a picture when the left image showed it disconnected ? The only thing I can think of is that the poll interval (accessed via the show statistics button) is set to a high figure and the image on the right hasnt refreshed. The stats look healthy with no errors at all. It's possibly an error at the exchange.


    10. #9
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help for new connection please

      Quote Originally Posted by paddy View Post
      hi

      sorry for the delay - it took a bit longer than i expected.

      here are the detailed stats. as you can see despite leaving the router on the connection droped at some point.
      Yes, those stats cover over 36 hours connection and look very healthy. I would be looking at your networking - are you connected wirelessly or by ethernet cable to the router?

    11. #10
      paddy's Avatar
      paddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help for new connection please

      I am connecting by ethernet cable and have used tcp optimizer on the ethernet card. incidently i tried the sky user speed test for the first time and got near to 1mb speeds but its still nowhere near the 8mb.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION