Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, i have read a lot of topics here about slow speeds before i posted but nothing really helped. Im ...

    1. #1
      Nut315's Avatar
      Nut315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      Hey, i have read a lot of topics here about slow speeds before i posted but nothing really helped. Im on 8mb sky broadband, using wireless to connect to the internet. i have done speed tests and i get on average 600kb/s download speed and 200kb/s upload speed. i ran the sky test and here is my resluts:


      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 6.02.01.00
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      i cannot get detailed stats from the bouncy sky thing, as i had to change my routers IP to 10.0.0.1 insted of default, and i havent found how 2 change the ip in the program. this is because my dad needs to be able to connect to work, which uses the sky default ip address.

      any help would be appreciated... and i will be happy to add any more information if u need it.
      p.s. i also get randomly disconnected from sky and it reconnects again. and other times it just connects and disconnects, then connects again, then disconnects, continually.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      first point of notice is u have the new router (which you shouldn't have but anyway) so AFAIK there are no utilities written for it yet...

      are you running from your master/test socket or off an extention?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Nut315's Avatar
      Nut315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      we used to be on ntl, everything worked fine. but the previous owners of the house have moved some sockets and i cant find our master socket. so i guess im using an extension.

      also i play online games, and every minute or two without fail, i will freeze completly for like 3 seconds, then come back. its supprisingly annoying as i play competativly. is there a way of fixing this? i am able to get a video if u want also.

      lastly my internet light on the router randomly goes orange insted of green and i get no broadband. i have to spend 20 mins on ur helpline for them to run some tests, then it starts working again.

      any tips / advise welcome

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      orange light means connection but no IP address - green is full connection (shame tier 1 cant get their head around that yet)

      as for not knowing which is ur master, best to try ALL sockets and see which gives you a better sync as you should be seeing in excess of 5MB really...take a look and see if any of them have a horizontal split running through the middle of it - if one does that's more than likely the master (unless it says NTL on it of course)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      Quote Originally Posted by Nut315 View Post
      any tips / advise welcome
      Your stats are terrible: not too bad attenuation, terrible sync speed but high noise margin. This is a pretty good indication that your connection has been capped by Sky.

      Why? Well, Sky cap poor connections that have poor quality lines as ADSL doesn't cope very well under certain conditions. Capping puts less "strain" on the connection so in most cases gives a stable connection at the expense of speed.

      In your case it looks as though even with the capping, your connection still can't cope with the poor line condition. Detailed stats would help in this diagnosis but they're not available (yet) in the new router.

      Spend some time reading through the cabling and faceplate help forum. If you want a reliable (and faster) connection you will have to sort your line problems out. First thing dump the extension cable and second, find your master and plug your router into it.

      If you clear up your line problems you will find your router will sync at ~4500kbps (more than 5x the current speed) and it will be far more stable.

      HTH

    7. #6
      Nut315's Avatar
      Nut315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      ok thanks for ur help every1

      i have gone into every room, torn it apart looking for the master socket and have had next to no luck. there is an ntl MS upstairs, but that is obviously disconnected. and i also found a cable and wireless MS behind our main tv which is also disconnected. what i think has happened is the old house owner has removed the MS, or fitted it with some invisibility device.

      The socket im pluged into at the moment looks like it has had some work done to it, so im guessing that is where the MS used to be (as its also near the front door).

      So can i get a tech guy to come round and install a new MS? and how much does this usually cost.

      thanks for all of your help
      for the customer support here

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      there is a posibility you will not have a NTE5 master socket, best way to find out is look for where the phone line enters you house and follow it, the first socket you come to will be the master (you may come across a small rectangle box first this is normal)

    9. #8
      Nut315's Avatar
      Nut315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      reading up on some stuff, i found a socket with a yellow capacitor which i believe makes it a master socket. when i put my router into it, i get no change of connection. is this because i am capped?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      Yes. If you are at your capped speed then this won't change, It's the noise margin you need to look at. If this goes up then the connection is better.

    11. #10
      Nut315's Avatar
      Nut315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Need help for a novice

      hey again, ok now i have my master socket in, and only that is connected (no extensions). and sky have also put me up to 2.5 MB broadband now.



      however my connection is still slow. is there anything i can do to improve my line? as i think this is the problem now. could it be too many people in the area on sky broadband?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION