Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

    This is a discussion on Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmm. Not sure that post of mine made it to the right thread - or maybe I wasn't paying attention ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      Hmm. Not sure that post of mine made it to the right thread - or maybe I wasn't paying attention - sorry

      You're on Connect. Connect uses exchange based rate adaption which means that your sync will be set at the maximum stable level determined during the 10 day training period, less a bit.

      It looks as though something changed in your connection during or after this time and the setting has "stuck" at too low a level.

      Call Sky and report slow sync/download speeds. They should then raise a request with BT to reset your profile.

      HTH
      Last edited by Saturday; 08-12-07 at 08:38 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      Quote Originally Posted by Adam D View Post
      i thought i would be seen as the broadband is going straight into the line and then everythig else 'with and after it,
      With the face plate on, Its going through the face plate which is also connected to 2 other sockets around the house.

      Also would there be a reason to remove the ring wire if i connected it this way?

      Thinking of it, The problem that might be causing some change in the line when all connected is a phone we have upstairs with the way its connected,
      dont shout at me, i need to get it sorted. the 'end' of the cable to connect to the phone is a Rj11 (the small type) and it had an adaptor that came with it for making it into a regular size, I lost this, and for a quick minute thing, I have plugged it into the adsl port on a filter, Then the filter into another filter and then that filter in a wall socket. This got the phone working. Still needs sorting though.
      Think of the ring wire as an aerial for picking up interference! It serves no other purpose when ADSL filters are installed as they do not connect to it. Even if it is connected "after" the router, it is still connected!

      And yes, I would sort out a proper RJ11 to BT adaptor for that 'phone to be sure that everything is right before getting the line retrained!

    4. #13
      Adam D's Avatar
      Adam D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      Quote Originally Posted by eyemdee View Post
      Think of the ring wire as an aerial for picking up interference! It serves no other purpose when ADSL filters are installed as they do not connect to it. Even if it is connected "after" the router, it is still connected!

      And yes, I would sort out a proper RJ11 to BT adaptor for that 'phone to be sure that everything is right before getting the line retrained!
      I have just bought one of ebay so i should get that sorted, I will also take a look at the ring wire in a bit.

      The guys at sky are smarty and cocky, They keep telling me they cannot do it, and i have managed to get trough to one person who knows what i am on about.

      What can i do if they don't want to listen and insist on they cannot do anything?

    5. #14
      Adam D's Avatar
      Adam D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      Finally put through to another person and they admit the line is not 'set up right' so they are passing it onto Bt.

      Hope it gets resolved

    6. #15
      Adam D's Avatar
      Adam D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      How can i remove the bell/ring wire? I have searched but i dont think im searching the right keywords!

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      open you're phone socket - remove any wires not attached to pins 2 and 5...job done
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Adam D's Avatar
      Adam D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?



      They rang me today, Told me Bt had capped it but they have now removed it and my sync speeds are at 6400, Just leave my router on for 24/48 hours for it to update with sky to get the full 6400.

      About 30mins ago i removed all the cables in the phone sockets apart from pints 2 and 5.

      and i have left the dodgy phone connection unplugged untill i get my adaptor (tomorrow i hope)

      I will post the stats now with new connection speed and 30mins without the ring wire's

      and when i get my full speed in a day or so post again to see any differences without the wire etc..

      System Up Time 122:00:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4884 6861 0 40 171 06:40:02
      LAN 10M/100M 1674041 1668410 0 3697 499 122:00:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 67763 41217 0 105 19 122:00:11


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6400 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.9 db 20.0 db

    9. #18
      Adam D's Avatar
      Adam D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      there is quite a difference already, im not sure what has caused it, is it for the better or is it worse?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2272 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 22.9 db 25.0 db[/QUOTE]



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6400 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.9 db 20.0 db

    10. #19
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      ^^^ You are getting nearly 3 times the download speed and over 50% higher upload although the noise margin is a bit low. Depending on how the line quality has improved with your mods it should settle down to a much higher speed than previously.

    11. #20
      Adam D's Avatar
      Adam D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems, Should i be getting a greater one?

      todays results, At the moment i am still getting 2mb, but sync'in at 6400.

      here are my connection status for today after aroung 24hours with the dodgy phone connection out and ring wires removed from each socket.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6400 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 20.0 db

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION