Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

    This is a discussion on from 16mb to 12mb???? capped??? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi forums, great site. been looking at everyones stats which makes me think that ive been capped. was originally stuck ...

    1. #1
      gobobolaz's Avatar
      gobobolaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester south
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      hi forums, great site. been looking at everyones stats which makes me think that ive been capped. was originally stuck on g.dmt 8mb and paying for max but after using this site, an email/phone call in to sky got put on adsl2+.

      got a return call from sky saying capable of 15233kbps (16mb) great and it was for a while but then connection dropped to 12700kbps.

      here is my stats. please let me know if anyone sees the problem. ta v much.


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 606 Kbps, Downstream rate = 12700 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.9 19.0
      Attn(dB): 18.5 11.1
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 19012 700
      Rate (Kbps): 12700 606
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 101 97
      B: 238 13
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5996 10.9714
      L: 3402 175
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 72363 72361
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 7742916 307534
      RSCorr: 11 587202560
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 34780307 1640031
      Data Cells: 103241 8868
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 26705
      Total time = 19 min 40 sec
      SF = 72363
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 19 min 40 sec
      SF = 72363
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 40 sec
      SF = 17514
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54849
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      cromozone's Avatar
      cromozone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      Looks to have been capped by Tier 3 - did you ask them to lower your max delays or something? If not, you better get on the phone to them

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      he's had an auto regrade done, as the upstream has also changed - im guessing you were complaining about speed before and this is a roll out from sky to try and blanket fix things...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      gobobolaz's Avatar
      gobobolaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester south
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      yeah had issues before on being 8mb and paying for max so was in touch with them. will get on phone to them but tbh wasnt looking forward to that, sort of last resort. ah well must bite the bullet.

      cheers folks

    6. #5
      gobobolaz's Avatar
      gobobolaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester south
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      sent 'em email and its been with tier 3 for over a week now but end of last week noticed things/connections have changed and not sure why this happened?

      can anyone shed any light on this?

      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 478 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9852 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.6 23.5
      Attn(dB): 18.5 11.0
      Pwr(dBm): 0.8 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18392 552
      Rate (Kbps): 9852 478


      starting to wonder why i am paying for max again!!!

    7. #6
      suhailp's Avatar
      suhailp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Goodmayes
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      I have the same problem, I called up Sky to let them know about lag. They've reduced my speed, yet I still have high pings when playing online games (50+ for servers that used to be >30).

      I also have very high noise on my line, but I'm connected to my master socket and only 1/2km from my exchange.

    8. #7
      aky101's Avatar
      aky101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halifax
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      ok i got just got connected to sky broadband and get download speeds of around 10meg
      after reading the gobobolaz's situation think i may be capped below are my router stats. if i am capped what should i do??




      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 16382 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 13.5
      Attn(dB): 16.5 8.5
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 19492 864
      Rate (Kbps): 16382 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 41(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 61 68
      B: 40 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 12 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.0799 7.7037
      L: 5105 216
      D: 320 8
      Counters
      SF: 5067805 4789011
      SFErr: 16 1
      RS: 4074515412 3598745
      RSCorr: 430173 49
      RSUnCorr: 1331 0

      HEC: 14 0
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3145563111 151029179
      Data Cells: 11088372 934477
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 13 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 20
      AS: 81415

      INP: 2.50 2.37
      PER: 16.06 17.81
      delay: 6.39 15.40
      OR: 33.36 33.23

      Bitswap: 4139 557

      Total time = 22 hours 37 min 19 sec
      SF = 5067805
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 37 min 19 sec
      SF = 5067805
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 19 sec
      SF = 27348
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56005
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56069
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56005
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56006
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

      i get 10meg wired btw.
      Last edited by aky101; 30-10-07 at 09:05 PM.

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???


      ok i got just got connected to sky broadband and get download speeds of around 10meg
      after reading the gobobolaz's situation think i may be capped below are my router stats. if i am capped what should i do??




      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 16382 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 13.5
      Attn(dB): 16.5 8.5
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 19492 864
      Rate (Kbps): 16382 764
      you are syncing at 16382 (which is v. good)
      try TCP optimizer if using XP and see if it improves (link somewhere on this site)

    10. #9
      aky101's Avatar
      aky101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halifax
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      holy mackerel!!! tcp seems to have boosted my speed more than 4 meg
      i just did this speed test


      did it again to be sure



      hooray thanks!!
      Last edited by aky101; 30-10-07 at 09:26 PM.

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: from 16mb to 12mb???? capped???

      Quote Originally Posted by aky101 View Post
      holy mackerel!!! tcp seems to have boosted my speed more than 4 meg
      i just did this speed test

      Excellent, i have now gone from slightly jealous, to very jealous

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION