Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

    This is a discussion on Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Only on 8096 down and 768 up. Reading the forum I see this is because I'm on G.DMT, but looking ...

    1. #1
      Dave_G's Avatar
      Dave_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      Only on 8096 down and 768 up. Reading the forum I see this is because I'm on G.DMT, but looking at my stats am I correct in thinking I should be able to achieve ADSL2+


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 20.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.6
      Max(Kbps): 9632 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 366748 366746
      SFErr: 18 0
      RS: 49877812 3117341
      RSCorr: 2406 0
      RSUnCorr: 327 0

      HEC: 14 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 119055735 0
      Data Cells: 298731 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 43 0
      SES: 9 0
      UAS: 90 0
      Total time = 4 hours 15 min 26 sec
      SF = 893287
      CRC = 58
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 43
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 15 min 26 sec
      SF = 893287
      CRC = 58
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 43
      Latest 15 minutes time = 26 sec
      SF = 1529
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52872
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      YOu have a healthy noise margin which is a good indication that you could sync faster (for your attenuation of 32db).

      However you line is showing some (small) errors. A faster sync and your errors would go up which is why you may have been put on g.dmt.

      Have you tried the test socket (see my sig re the master socket). Check your Noise Margin both before and after trying the test socket. If it goes up when in the test socket, then get a filtered faceplate from adslnation and then call sky to say that you have fixed your line problems and for you to be moved to adsl2+.

    4. #3
      Dave_G's Avatar
      Dave_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      Thanks for info.

      Looked at ADSLNation at this faceplate, ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate

      Am I correct in thinking this simple filters at the master socket but sill uses the current BT line running to my other room from ADSL socket, Instead of being filtered at the other room end?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      Yes if i understand what you have said.

      The BT line comes into the master socket. The new faceplate on this socket has an inbuilt filter. and provides an adsl and normal bt connection on front. Any extension cabling is connected behind the filtered faceplate providing a normal BT line to whereever the extension cabling goes (and removes the needs for any dangly filters on any extension sockets).

    6. #5
      Dave_G's Avatar
      Dave_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      Yep thanks

      Will see what Sky say tomorrow, but will also look into sorting out plate and wires.

      Thanks for info.

    7. #6
      Dave_G's Avatar
      Dave_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      Sorry just need to clarify a few things after doing more testing, hope that's okay.


      Have now tested from Current Extension & from Master Socket, results below:

      My questions are:

      1. The errors I'm getting from extension would the be noise related or cable quality?

      2. Would replacing the extension reduce the CRC errors?

      3. Would fitting a XTE-2005 using the same extension cable be okay?

      4. Are the CRC errors on extension bad or minor?

      5. Do the line stats indicate I should be getting more than 8096 or is this because of DMT mode?

      6. Anything else I've missed

      (PS - Tried talking to Sky today reference the DMT mode and even though I know little on the topic and gain that little knowledge from these forums... It was loads more than support knows. I could write pages on their answers but since there all rubbish I cant see the need, lol.)





      Extension


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.5 db 13.0 db


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 20.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.2
      Max(Kbps): 9536 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4534255 4534253
      SFErr: 406 498
      RS: 616658790 38541150
      RSCorr: 142988 822
      RSUnCorr: 7215 0

      HEC: 318 388
      OCD: 0 4
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 1471836527 0
      Data Cells: 789674 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 329 0
      SES: 45 0
      UAS: 1191 0
      Total time = 1 days 3 hours 36 min 34 sec
      SF = 5703368
      CRC = 734
      LOS = 50
      LOF = 0
      ES = 329
      Latest 1 day time = 3 hours 36 min 34 sec
      SF = 764374
      CRC = 78
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 54
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 34 sec
      SF = 23230
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 4938994
      CRC = 656
      LOS = 47
      LOF = 0
      ES = 275
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4



      From Master Socket


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.1 db 14.0 db

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 20.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.8
      Max(Kbps): 9696 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 114388 114386
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 15556778 972281
      RSCorr: 151 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 37137587 0
      Data Cells: 447909 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 27 0
      Total time = 33 min 5 sec
      SF = 114388
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 33 min 5 sec
      SF = 114388
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 5 sec
      SF = 10881
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50577
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #7
      cromozone's Avatar
      cromozone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      I can only answer question 5... G.DMT mode uses a profile with a maximum sync of 8096Kbps so effectively you're capped at that speed. After speaking to Sky Tier 3 support recently, it's possible they think your line is over 2000 metres long and therefore have stuck you on G.DMT automatically. Judging by your attenuation I would guess your line is a fair bit shorter than that so there really shouldn't be a problem having them change you over...

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Just changed join Sky MAX is this correct!

      @ dave g
      As red dwarf has said you need to do the comparison using the test socket, not the master. Also you need to do the comparison over similar time spans or the results will not be relative.
      To try and answer your questions :-

      1 - Could be both, stats from the test socket will eliminate errors induced by internal wiring
      2 - Depends on wether the extension is creating them
      3 - Again as 2
      4 - They are not significant, i've seen much worse - however if you can get rid of them by replacing the extension it would be worthwhile
      5 - As you and cromozone say the mode you are currently on is limited to 8 meg
      6 - If it was me I would replace your extension with a hardwired outlet for your router wired in cat5e cable

      cheers
      dave
      Last edited by dholdi; 11-10-07 at 07:03 PM.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION