Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

    This is a discussion on g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi... i recently got a connect package from sky. i live half a kilometer from the exchange and i should ...

    1. #1
      a7e78's Avatar
      a7e78 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glandyfi
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      hi... i recently got a connect package from sky. i live half a kilometer from the exchange and i should be getting around 7.5mb downstream.
      i normally get around half this amount....3-4mb downstream and sometimes even 2mb. ive been following many threads about slow speeds and from what i gather, the fact that im on the G.DMT mode maybe causing the problem.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.8 23.0
      Attn(dB): 11.0 6.5
      Pwr(dBm): 15.8 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 11648 1180
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 15
      R: 20 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 15
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 20 16
      S: 1.0784 9.0000
      L: 2040 128
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 5116 5114
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 695794 43469
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1663592 0
      Data Cells: 16667 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 12 0
      Total time = 1 min 44 sec
      SF = 5116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 44 sec
      SF = 5116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 44 sec
      SF = 5116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      why would i have been put on this particular mode? could adsl2+ benefit my situation? is it worth getting sky to change to adsl2+?

      i have already got in touch with sky about the situation and they are currently running tests on the line although this does not look promising because every test done has apparently failed or aborted

      any advice would be most helpful


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      SNR (dB): 16.8 23.0
      Attn(dB): 11.0 6.5
      Pwr(dBm): 15.8 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 11648 1180
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 448
      G.dmt framing
      connect is always on G.dmt, as a rebranded bt connection you would need to speak to Tier 2 as they deal with this, i think there is also a 10 day "training" period on connect. in which time your connection speed will go up and down while in this time

      how long have you been connected ?
      also your stats are only for a very short time are you having prblems with your connection
      Last edited by richone54; 07-10-07 at 05:18 PM.

    4. #3
      a7e78's Avatar
      a7e78 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glandyfi
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      im into my 3rd week now so the training period passed a long time ago. So basically theres no chance to to change to adsl2+ then?

      its very strange becuase im soooo close to the exchange and yet i can barely scrape a 4 mb connection. are there any possible causes?

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      Connect is the same as mid with max 8meg gdmt, untill your exchange is unbundled you will not be able to get 16meg

      on your speed there could be a few reasons, i think bt sometimes throttle some of ther connections but i am not sure about this, your router is syncing at the full speed, there is also a programme somewhere on this forum called PCoptimizer (i think) which may help, but you may want to wait and see if another bod on here could help first (i do not think i explain anything to well and would not like to lead you down the garden path )

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by a7e78 View Post
      im into my 3rd week now so the training period passed a long time ago. So basically theres no chance to to change to adsl2+ then?
      No chance. Connect only comes as G.DMT.

      Your router is syncing at 8096kbps (8meg) which is the maximum speed possible for Connect i.e. you appear to have an excellent connection. If you are seeing download speeds significantly lower than ~6500kbps (which is the maximum download speed for that sync due to transmission overheads) then there are several possible reasons. In rough order of likelihood:

      • a poor wireless connection (see the wireless forum for tips)
      • an overloaded test server (try this one)
      • incorrect TCP/IP settings (run TCPOptimizer)
      • severe line errors (your stats cover too short a period to tell)
      • other traffic on the PC/LAN at the time of testing (e.g. malware, Sky Anytime etc)


      If none of those (but I'd be surprised) then as richone54 says, Connect is a highly contended (compared to SKY LLU) service and your actual download speeds are influenced by other users sharing the same exchange equipment and bandwidth.
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-10-07 at 05:57 PM.

    7. #6
      ripkord's Avatar
      ripkord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      I'm on the unlimited package and Im still connecting at G.DTM I tried ringing them before but when tier 3 called me up the fobbed me off - is it worth pursuing? I'm connecting at 8096 and attenuation is 42. The connection is good I just would like the CHANCE to get 16.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      They didn't "fob you off".With an attenuation of 42db you have no chance of anything approaching 16meg.

      Were you on ADSL2+ your attenuation would shift to ~45db and if you were lucky you'd sync at ~8250kbps. i.e. you're on the correct mode for your line.

    9. #8
      ripkord's Avatar
      ripkord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      Ahh well cheers anyway....

      just noticed my connection speed has dropped to 7000 odd since I had an alarm fitted - now this is wired straight into the back of my master socket... hows that for a bummer!

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by ripkord View Post
      just noticed my connection speed has dropped to 7000 odd since I had an alarm fitted
      Fit a replacement filtered faceplate. That should eliminate the effect.

    11. #10
      a7e78's Avatar
      a7e78 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glandyfi
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt- is this the reason for my slow speed?

      thanks for all the replies... ill try the steps mentioned above. i do alternate between wired and wireless depending where i am in the house... i do live in a rural area so it does explain why BT has a monopoly on the exchange

      i suppose ill wait and see what sky tech support have to say about the speed from the results of the line tests

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION