Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    slow test

    This is a discussion on slow test within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi connected yesterday came from aol 2meg .signed for sky max but me router will only connect at 5.645,Seems daft ...

    1. #1
      digit's Avatar
      digit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      over the moon
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      slow test

      Hi
      connected yesterday came from aol 2meg .signed for sky max but me router will only connect at 5.645,Seems daft to pay for 16 when I can only get this should I ask sky to reduce it to 8 meg package the first test was ,



      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 5645 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 766 kbps
      also last night it slowed down to a stand still i could not even load a page .
      X AOL No complants there
      Lets hope this is as good
      Its getting better and better


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Post attenuation/snr stats

    4. #3
      digit's Avatar
      digit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      over the moon
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks
      think this is it
      Just used the TCPOptimiser and got this speed



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5645 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 db 24.8 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 12.3 db
      X AOL No complants there
      Lets hope this is as good
      Its getting better and better

    5. #4
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You should be able to get around 10mb, have you tried different phone sockets?

    6. #5
      digit's Avatar
      digit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      over the moon
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I only have the one and I am at the master socket.I,m happy because I saved 15 a month and upped me speed by 4 x.
      just thought that i would have got the same speeds as some on here but I suppose that if the modem dose not connect more then 5900kb/s then what im getting is ok
      The question is would it be the same if I droped it to the lower packege and saved another 5 there again 40 gig limit is not that much when running at this speed .think i will leave it and see how it go's
      Last edited by digit; 15-09-06 at 08:30 AM. Reason: added
      X AOL No complants there
      Lets hope this is as good
      Its getting better and better

    7. #6
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your line is strange, so it's hard to tell. ADSL2+ is supposed to improve your speeds, so if you downgraded to ADSL1 you might get lower than what you have now.

    8. #7
      digit's Avatar
      digit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      over the moon
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Have just changed all me cables pluged into master socket and got 11500kb/s now we getting some there.
      I car'nt have me computer there so heres the daft question ,if I use the wireless part will I still get the same speed?
      X AOL No complants there
      Lets hope this is as good
      Its getting better and better

    9. #8
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You should be able to get the same speed with wireless, providing you keep the cables in the socket where you're getting the highest speed.

    10. #9
      digit's Avatar
      digit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      over the moon
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks OhNoes
      The only thing now is to keep it connected at a stable speed .wont know that till next week when i get me usb bits off sky 20 each thats better then ebuyer
      At the moment its up and down the lowest been 389kb/s if fact out of 10 speed tests between 14/9/06 and 15/9/065 have been lower then 1000kb/s .
      I have seen somthing on this forum about this I will have to find some time and do some reading.
      again Thanks for a very halpfull forum
      X AOL No complants there
      Lets hope this is as good
      Its getting better and better

    11. #10
      digit's Avatar
      digit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      over the moon
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting faster all the time

      Just got my wireless usb from sky so now I can put the router at the master socket.
      speed now



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10663 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.5 db 24.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 10.6 db
      X AOL No complants there
      Lets hope this is as good
      Its getting better and better

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION