Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 54 of 71 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664 ... LastLast
    Results 531 to 540 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yea, more than happy! he put the line at 14.2mb and said it will connect between 10.5 and that from ...

    1. #531
      Strat's Avatar
      Strat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Highwoods, Colchester, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      yea, more than happy!

      he put the line at 14.2mb and said it will connect between 10.5 and that from now on. Fingers crossed its the latter!

      (is there any reason why my noise margin has gone down from nearly 20 to about 7?)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #532
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      That is the price of speed. The higher the noise margin the more stable the line will be, but the price is a drop in speed. The default NM is 6.9 dbs, if you have 7 now, at a noisy time on the line, you should be fine, nothing to worry about.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #533
      JohnnyB's Avatar
      JohnnyB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      I decided to run the speed test again, this time once from the master socket and once from the engineers test socket...the results were the same as from the upstairs socket...



      I've had quicker downloads on dial-up...

    5. #534
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      I've had quicker downloads on dial-up..
      No you haven't, dial up has a theoretical maximum of 56kbps, which was seldom actually achieved.

      That aside your speed is very poor, as I said before open a thread in the Broadband Help section including your stats from your normal position and from the Test socket, link below. No one can do anything for you by simply looking at speedtests.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #535
      DGAF's Avatar
      DGAF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Was connected on friday and my first speed test is as follows:



      really happy with the connection, hopefully it wont be tweaked. Not suffered and disconnects yet. Really good ping too and i haven't got my max delays reduced yet.

      DGAF

    7. #536
      RichPDG's Avatar
      RichPDG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**


    8. #537
      ozzage's Avatar
      ozzage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**


    9. #538
      tallmatt1's Avatar
      tallmatt1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chandlers ford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      chandlers ford
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14721 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 16.6 db
      Noise Margin 5.8 db 16.0 db

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/420233389.png

      i'm on max. just gone live today so don't know if my speed will change much over the next week. my routers a sagem and plugged into a long extension. my orange speed was about 6000 and 450 so am happy with sky but even though the speed is up the internet seems a bit slower when opening pages. haven't tried downloading yet or gaming on the xbox.

    10. #539
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Is there no way you can get the router at the socket instead of the long extension, at least until the main DLM phase is over?

      You could always try a couple of homeplugs or run a long ethernet instead of the extension.

    11. #540
      tallmatt1's Avatar
      tallmatt1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chandlers ford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      chandlers ford
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      home plugs?
      (googled it. never heard of these before. good idea!)
      Last edited by tallmatt1; 01-03-09 at 09:13 AM.

     

     
    Page 54 of 71 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION