Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 48 of 71 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast
    Results 471 to 480 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Saturday I know someone who had a similar issue i.e. poor line for ADSL but apparently fine ...

    1. #471
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post

      I know someone who had a similar issue i.e. poor line for ADSL but apparently fine for voice. Anyway, turns out that it developed an intermittent voice fault with lots of hiss and crackles but only now and then, so it didn't show up on the initial BT line test - ever. It also gave problems with fax transmissions (that also matters to BT). He persevered and as it was intermittent, even though BT couldn't detect it, they sent out an engineer. This guy is very friendly and the engineer agreed to take a look at the local cabinet and the drop line. He cleaned up the outside connection and did something in the cabinet and even replaced the ADSL faceplate. Lo and behold, the end result was a 12500kbps sync
      I Think my line has suddenly developed the same intermittent fault

      Must keep eye on it as i am sure it will get worst in the next month when it is raining.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #472
      Billy12345's Avatar
      Billy12345 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      Sky mid on wireless, wired gave same result

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 13.0 db

    4. #473
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by snooper6 View Post
      Oh dear,all that time under the other user name that I cant remember and forgot the important bit.Here goes.
      Con speed.2560-416
      line att 63.5db-31.5db
      noise 7.4 db-14 db
      Yes, your speedtest result is about right for your sync, it's your attenuation (line length) that's holding your speed back.

      As you possibly know, your router reports a maximum attenuation of 63.5db irrespective of whether the actual attenuation is higher than that. Assuming that it really is that though then your approximate line length is 4.6km which is close to what you'd guessed.

    5. #474
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Billy12345 View Post
      Sky mid on wireless, wired gave same result
      That's very poor as your sync is at the maximum for MId. If you get the same speed wireless then the most likely reason is incorrect TCP/IP settings (that's if you're XP, if you're Vista then it is something else).

      TCP/IP settings in XP can be easily changed with a tool such as TCPOptimizer - see the second sticky in my signature.

      If that doesn't improve things then (assuming all speedtesters give similar results) it's something on your system/LAN restricting or using bandwidth.

    6. #475
      snooper6's Avatar
      snooper6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crowthorne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Sandhurst
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Yes, your speedtest result is about right for your sync, it's your attenuation (line length) that's holding your speed back.

      As you possibly know, your router reports a maximum attenuation of 63.5db irrespective of whether the actual attenuation is higher than that. Assuming that it really is that though then your approximate line length is 4.6km which is close to what you'd guessed.
      I fall inbetween 2 exchange areas.If I had a Camberley number,I would be slightly nearer the exchange,than Crowthorne,but heigh ho.Its something Ive got to live with.

    7. #476
      jin's Avatar
      jin
      jin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Mine is:

      Download: 12872
      Upload: 650

    8. #477
      WoLf-LXVI's Avatar
      WoLf-LXVI is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stone,Staffs
      Broadband ISP: Be* Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      had BT engineers visit ...said i should get 3.5meg

      whilst playing games online I get an average ping of 60...does this sound right
      Last edited by WoLf-LXVI; 02-01-09 at 05:01 PM.

    9. #478
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      My mums connection.
      London server .


      Dublin server (Advised tp pick this)


      This is why i all ways use the london server ,

      Not to bad i hope her profile changes soon ,
      She has a sync rate of 4975 Kbps but is only on a profile of 4000 this could go up to 4500 so fingers crossed .
      Last edited by Steven_Belfast; 02-01-09 at 05:07 PM.

    10. #479
      snooper6's Avatar
      snooper6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crowthorne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Sandhurst
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Steven_Belfast View Post
      My mums connection.
      London server .


      Dublin server (Advised tp pick this)


      This is why i all ways use the london server ,

      Not to bad i hope her profile changes soon ,
      She has a sync rate of 4975 Kbps but is only on a profile of 4000 this could go up to 4500 so fingers crossed .
      dont use thye Cario server then.I always find it gives very dire results.

    11. #480
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Steven_Belfast View Post
      Not to bad i hope her profile changes soon ,
      She has a sync rate of 4975 Kbps but is only on a profile of 4000 this could go up to 4500 so fingers crossed .
      I'm afraid not. A BRAS profile of 4500 won't kick in until the sync holds above 5119kbps for three consecutive days.

     

     
    Page 48 of 71 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION