Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 45 of 71 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast
    Results 441 to 450 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by gtakiller92 40mb a bit fast lol...

    1. #441
      gtakiller92's Avatar
      gtakiller92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by gtakiller92 View Post
      40mb a bit fast lol


    2. Advertisement
    3. #442
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      Attenuation is apparently 33dB
      Wired over 100Mbit.

    4. #443
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      Looks like the dynamic speed is working nicely.

      Extra 60KB/s in a few hours!

    5. #444
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



    6. #445
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      WAN PPPoA 1237399 2372218 0 0 0 2:09:36
      LAN 2497683 1319832 0 0 74 3:05:10
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16381 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 11.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.5 db

      Well done Sky

    7. #446
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Noise Margin is 6.3-6.4 now... worrying me slightly, lol

    8. #447
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      The noise margin will drop as the noise on the line increases, this is normal when darkness falls. Nothing to worry about unless your line actually drops, if it does, then you may need a slight cap. I would not worry about it as the newer firmware, in most cases, will hold the connection right down almost to zero.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #448
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      1.9Sky is on mine...

      Thanks for the tip. I'm loving this connection. I KNEW all along it would be capable of 16Mb. Little bit of work and I've got it

    10. #449
      tuk485's Avatar
      tuk485 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Could someone confirm if this download speed is ok as it seems to be lower than others with this Line Attenuation.

      Connection Speed
      Down 4544 kbps
      Up 768 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      Down 46 db
      Up 25 db

      Noise Margin
      Down 7 db
      Up 13 db

      I am on the Max package.


    11. #450
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      As things stand, that is as much as you are going to get. Plug into your test socket, behind he master socket faceplate and take the stats from there. You would be better starting your own thread in the Broadband Help section, post your stats as above plus those from your Test socket. This thread is intended for posting speeds only.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 45 of 71 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION