Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 21 of 71 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast
    Results 201 to 210 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ^ spot on......

    1. #201
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      ^ spot on...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #202
      J3OEF's Avatar
      J3OEF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      excellent not bad for a new line lol

    4. #203
      Petegee's Avatar
      Petegee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01392
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      Hope I've done this right - it's my first post so be gentle with me as I'm a bit of a newbie!

      Currently on a mid package using the netgear wireless router. not sure what other info you need or more importantly where I'd get it from...

      (obviously I'm not in maidenhead but Exeter!)

      But other broadband speed checker sites I use show an almost constant 1.48MB download capacity which is very dissapointing given I was hoping to get much closer to the 8Mb advertised...

      Any advice? If I'm only getting 1.48 mb for the upto 8mb service could I not expect to still get 1.48 mb on the free upto 2 mb base package? ie why am I paying Ł5 for a service which should be free - or would I get even slower speeds if the package was switched to the 2mb service?

      Many thanks

    5. #204
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      A speedtest result with no further information isn't sufficient (as you'd have seen if you'd read a few posts in this thread ).

      Post your router sync speed, attenuation and if you're wireless or wired. Then it's possible to say whether your speed is good or bad.

    6. #205
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      1.48MB, hmmmmmmmm.....try switching off youe UPNP setting in the router settings then see if theres any difference, there is a bug in the UPNP settings, it cannot cope with certain phone line conditions, distance from exchange, and so forth, so might help to switch that off. Might find the speed will go up to about 3.5-4mb speed with it switched off. try it!

    7. #206
      CJD™'s Avatar
      CJD™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      cheers for the info "saturday"

      Just recieved and changed my master faceplate with a filtered one and using a rj11 direct into it now.

      Could you please comment on my below results.

      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2650 3875 0 5115 34016 00:02:22
      LAN 10M/100M 7662 5171 0 9242 1270 00:17:21
      WLAN 11M/54M 249 0 0 55 0 00:17:11

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3776 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 30.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 13.0 db

    8. #207
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      there is a bug in the UPNP settings, it cannot cope with certain phone line conditions, distance from exchange, and so forth
      What?

      The UPnP "bug" only affects the current V1 router firmware for a start and has nothing to do with line conditions, line length, download speeds or router sync speeds. It affects connectivity (generally wireless) in a small number of users.

      And even if it were relevant, why do you imagine that it would only affect "other broadband speed checker sites" (that give "1.48MB") but not the one shown in full colour in the posting?
      Last edited by Saturday; 05-01-08 at 01:00 PM.

    9. #208
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by CJD™ View Post
      Could you please comment on my below results.
      Still rather a low sync for your attenuation. On a relatively noise free line you could expect a bit over 6000kbps.

      If that set of stats was taken immediately after booting then there's a possibility that you're lightly capped. However, I don't think that would explain all the shortfall. Reboot the router and see if the noise margin is ~6.9db and the sync a little higher.

      As well as the possibility that you're capped, it also looks likely that your BT line is noisy. To double check, just try a comparison by plugging the router into the test socket behind the faceplate using the supplied router cable and filter and nothing else (maybe also try another filter). If you get much the same sync/noise margin then the BT line is holding your speed back a bit.

      Your speedtest result is fine for your sync.
      Last edited by Saturday; 05-01-08 at 12:55 PM.

    10. #209
      iworkatsky's Avatar
      iworkatsky is offline Easynet Staff
      Exchange: Northolt
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      Thats a fluke but I know that if your close enought to an exchange its possible.

      How far away are you?
      1.49 kilometres

    11. #210
      Petegee's Avatar
      Petegee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01392
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      A speedtest result with no further information isn't sufficient (as you'd have seen if you'd read a few posts in this thread ).

      Post your router sync speed, attenuation and if you're wireless or wired. Then it's possible to say whether your speed is good or bad.
      Hi Saturday thank you for the prompt reply, as my post suggested having read many of the posts in this thread I knew you would want other info but didn't know where to obtain it...until your helpful link so many thanks.

      I trust this includes "router sync speed" info? And as mentioned in my post I'm connected wireless via my Sky supplied Netgear router (Firmware V1.02.28) - at same time as these stats were complied I reused the broadband choices speed checker which came up with 1.52 Mb and the Tiscali speedchecker which came up as 1.7 mb


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4672 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db

      Let me know if you need any more info - many thanks again from the newbie!

      PS if it helps I'm 2.4 km as the crow flies from my exchange

     

     
    Page 21 of 71 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION