Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 17 of 71 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast
    Results 161 to 170 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My pings are very very strange BTW i live in London..and my exchange is the Hayes north exchange LWHAY. thats ...

    1. #161
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      My pings are very very strange BTW i live in London..and my exchange is the Hayes north exchange LWHAY.

      thats 1.4miles away from me but speeds seem a bit odd or is that me?



      notice the pings..









    2. Advertisement
    3. #162
      giulio's Avatar
      giulio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bowes Park LN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Bounds Green
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Speed test results are below in my signature. I am on Sky Mid - 5/month

      Router stats:

      Connection Speed 5856 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db

      so it seems as if i am losing around 856 kbps on my download speed.

      I am currently on a wired connection to my router which is plugged into my master socket with an ADSL nation XTE-2005 faceplate.

      I think I have done the best I can to get the fastest connection speed to my knowledge, but does anybody have any other suggestions to improve my speed further?

    4. #163
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      My pings are very very strange
      All those results show is that the spedtest server you chose reports different speed measurement/pings to near places than to far away places. Places far away are slower than near (no news there then). It doesn't tell you that there's any issue with your connection.

      What result would you expect?
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-12-07 at 09:36 PM.

    5. #164
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by giulio View Post

      so it seems as if i am losing around 856 kbps on my download speed.
      Yes that's right.

      You may be assuming that router sync speed is the same as throughput speed. I wish that were true but it isn't. The transmission protocol carries an overhead - typically of ~20%. On a sync of 5856kbps you'd expect a throughput of ~4685kbps. You're getting a fair bit more than that so that suggests your connection settings (TCP/IP) are at their optimal (actually your speed is so good I wonder if actually your router was syncing higher when you took the speedtest).

      Separate to that though, your sync speed is low for your attenuation. This suggests you have line issues(noise). Fix that and you could expect a sync of ~8000kbps.

      For further info please read the first sticky in my signature and then look at the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line issues.
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-12-07 at 09:47 PM.

    6. #165
      giulio's Avatar
      giulio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bowes Park LN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Bounds Green
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      thanks for the swift reply.

      I have just checked my router and it has not changed it sync speed - it has been connected at 5856 for almost 12 hours now. Does this mean my downstream connection could be capped?

      I have executed the TCPOptimizer software already, which is probably why I am getting great results when TCP/IP is taken into consideration.

      I have only got 1 cable going into the blue part of the faceplate, because when i tried putting the other cable in (i think it was orange - for the ringing tone) my speed dropped to around 1-2MB. So I can try connecting it again but I'm not sure it is of any use?!

    7. #166
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by giulio View Post
      Does this mean my downstream connection could be capped?
      No. Read the links as suggested.

      Quote Originally Posted by giulio View Post
      So I can try connecting it again but I'm not sure it is of any use?!
      No, if your phones are ringing fine, don't do that. The orange wire, assuming it was connected to terminal 3 is the ring wire (used to generate the ring for old phones) and is a common cause of interference - as you've demonstrated.

    8. #167
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Its just i live about 1.4miles away from the exchange should i expecet a better speed?

      This by far is the best so far .


    9. #168
      dramallama's Avatar
      dramallama is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Am on Sky Mid (5/month)

      Distance from exchange - 1.16miles
      Line attenuation - 39db
      Noise - 8db

      (surfing is brilliant - but emailing using other smtp servers is absolutely rubbish!!! )

      Maidenhead Server (recommended server!)


      Sittingbourne Server


      London Server

    10. #169
      Gadget2me's Avatar
      Gadget2me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wimborne
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      This is on a wireless conection from the new Sagem router.
      Hard wired I get well over 6000kbps

      Last edited by Gadget2me; 05-12-07 at 01:21 PM. Reason: trying to get picture

    11. #170
      monkeymick's Avatar
      monkeymick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      I'm on Max, was told today the best my line can do is 5M

      New Sagem router (received testerday) and using cable.




      I am about 2 miles from exchange


      System Up Time: 0:36:55

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 240483 361592 0 0 91 0:35:45
      LAN 362075 241871 0 0 0 0:36:55
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:36:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5119 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 26.1 db
      Noise Margin 11.9 db 14.5 db
      Last edited by monkeymick; 06-12-07 at 09:59 PM. Reason: notes to add

     

     
    Page 17 of 71 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION