Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 12 of 71 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast
    Results 111 to 120 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by buzz Is there anything I can now do to increase it or should I down grade to ...

    1. #111
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by buzz View Post

      Is there anything I can now do to increase it or should I down grade to 8Mb?
      It's not possible to comment unless you post your router connection stats (read the rest of the thread).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #112
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by buzz View Post
      Speed Test Results
      Date 24/10/07 18:47:56
      Speed Down 3076.85 Kbps ( 3 Mbps )
      Speed Up 614.58 Kbps ( 0.6 Mbps )
      Port 8095
      Server speedtest1.adslguide.org.uk

      This is the latest speed test i've done

      I don't have an ethernet connection on my pc so its wireless via a 'Netgear WG111' (next to router)
      The telephone line is an extention of about 25" with 1 telephone on main socket
      I also use a new laptop but not tested the speed on that as yet.

      I have Sky Max but considering Mid

      I live approx 1.2 miles from exchange

      Do these figures add up and should I switch to Mid?

      Thanks for any advice
      Log on to http://192.168.0.1 when logged in it should tell you the synch speed which your router has registered, also post whats in "Connection status" to us.

      Kind Regards.
      Blue.

    4. #113
      Skydaz's Avatar
      Skydaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      System Up Time 336:12:18
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 23604 32918 0 113 820 12:34:51
      LAN 10M/100M 31106863 27848190 0 1304 99 336:12:16
      WLAN 11M/54M 202379 0 0 132 0 336:12:06


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6272 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 4.9 db 13.0 db



      Completely new to all this so please keep it in plain english. All i know is that sometimes it's fast sometimes it's really slow.


      Daz

    5. #114
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Skydaz View Post
      Completely new to all this so please keep it in plain english. All i know is that sometimes it's fast sometimes it's really slow.
      Your router is syncing at 6272kbps which is good for your attenuation. Your noise margin at 4.9db is too low and you will possibly experience connection problems. See the first sticky in my signature for an explanation of both these things.

      Your speedtest result is poor for your attenuation and coupled with your comment about variable speeds makes me think you are probably using a wireless connection?

      Wireless will often give problems and wired is always better, If you must be wireless then have a look at the wireless forum for ideas on how to improve your connection.

      You may also need to change some settings on your PC. See the second sticky in my signature.

    6. #115
      Skydaz's Avatar
      Skydaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      thanks for the quick reply...

      no i'm not wireless. I have just been put on the mid package yesterday, I was on connect for a week and that seemed fine. I will have a look at the sticky and your signature. Is it all fairly straight forward? I lost my connection for about 20 mins otherwise i would have replied straight away. What else can I do to improve stability and speed?

      Daz

    7. #116
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Your router is syncing at pretty much the maximum possible for your attenuation so there's not much you can do there. Your noise margin needs to be kept higher as at that level you will be generating line/connection errors. With a higher noise margin your router will sync a little lower.

      Run TCPOptimizer as suggested and see if that fixes your low speedtest result. Also, try this site which is more reliable than the one you used. If you get ~4800kbps or better then everything is fine.

    8. #117
      ChromeDome's Avatar
      ChromeDome is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Stoke on Trent
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**





      Just this evening gone on MAX,i think its a big improvement on my old stats
      Last edited by ChromeDome; 25-10-07 at 10:01 PM.

    9. #118
      petermk's Avatar
      petermk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: burslam
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: sky +hd
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      stoke
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme Edition QX6850,Asus Maximus Formula Intel X38 Thermaltake ToughPower 1200W Modular Power SupplyPSU,
      GeIL 4GB (4x1GB) PC8500C5 1066MHz Black Dragon DDR2 Dual Channel Kit, 750GB X 2 SATA2 RAID 0 HDDs, DVD-Writer, BFG GeForce 295 GTX HDTV/Dual DVI (PCI-Express, XFI 7.1 Audio, Gigabit LAN,
      Connected @ 15.7mbit on SkyMAX
      O.S WINDOWS 7 32.BIT

    10. #119
      corinbis's Avatar
      corinbis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Yes, looking at your stats you have been very heavily capped - presumably as a result of your discussion with Sky over your connection/line problems.
      Well, after a call to tier 1 tonight we've FINALLY got somewhere.....
      It's only taken 11 months


      NOW:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1984 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 22.1 db 13.0 db



      Thank you for all the info....
      Last edited by Saturday; 25-10-07 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Fixed tags

    11. #120
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Well that's good . . . . . but there's still quite some room for improvement.

     

     
    Page 12 of 71 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION