Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 71 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161 ... LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 704

    **run a speedtest and post your results here**

    This is a discussion on **run a speedtest and post your results here** within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok Major problems here: Wireless: Wired: the wireless was working perfectly, speeds of 7-8Mb but it all of a sudden ...

    1. #101
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Ok Major problems here:

      Wireless:


      Wired:


      the wireless was working perfectly, speeds of 7-8Mb but it all of a sudden DOESN'T work properly at all. I don't know whether it is the router or the USB dongle and I don't have spare equipment to check it :S


    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      LOL!

      My fastest connection YET!



      Lovely init! NOT!

      Kind Regards
      Blue

    4. #103
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Looks like it is time for a reload here Running Speedtests in Windows (wireless) gets me them horrible results.

      I booted linux and got this:



      I tend to use the London Server as the TranceFM server at Maidenhead tends to get overloaded and shows incorrect results, especially at peak times.

    5. #104
      corinbis's Avatar
      corinbis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Major problems here: Full test in post below.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 416 kbps 192 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 32.6 db 14.0 db







      Thank you
      Last edited by corinbis; 24-10-07 at 12:14 AM.

    6. #105
      corinbis's Avatar
      corinbis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      I've been reading through the forum re; noise, Attenuation etc. But it's not making a huge amount of sense to me? I'm not very computer minded.
      But here goes....

      I've had the problem since joining Sky 10 month ago, but I've started online gaming, and it's really annoying me now.

      As I stated above:
      I've spoken to Sky support tier 1, but they blame the BT line for the problem.
      I live 2.5 miles from the exchange.
      I am running straight out of the master test socket (the one inside the panel)
      Also running one phone out of the filter. (tested with & without this, no diff)
      I run an extension lan cable (10m) from the router to my pc (running through too many walls for wireless)
      I'm on the Base package (I know this is only up to 2mb, but 400kb?)
      I would also be happy to upgrade my package if I knew it would work better.

      Any help really appreciated.


      Full test:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 192 Kbps, Downstream rate = 416 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 32.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 50.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 12.9 0.4
      Max(Kbps): 5696 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 416 192
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 7
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 16
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 14 7
      M: 8 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 9.0666 18.0000
      L: 120 64
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 208073 208071
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1768624 884301
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3471362 0
      Data Cells: 208458 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 59 min 31 sec
      SF = 208073
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 59 min 31 sec
      SF = 208073
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 31 sec
      SF = 51225
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50987
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by corinbis; 24-10-07 at 12:15 AM.

    7. #106
      buzz's Avatar
      buzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leyland
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Flat cap & Clog country
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**



      Ok i'm supposed to be on 16Mb i've run the optimiser but this is it, and thats the best i've had! Usually 2.2Mb

      Is there anything I can now do to increase it or should I down grade to 8Mb?

      Buzz

    8. #107
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Whats your synch speed? could be a long line or maybe line fault or wireless range?

      Kind Regards.
      Blue.

      P.S. I got a lovely download speed from Virgin today, of 2401kB/s transfer speed.

    9. #108
      buzz's Avatar
      buzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leyland
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Flat cap & Clog country
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Speed Test Results
      Date 24/10/07 18:47:56
      Speed Down 3076.85 Kbps ( 3 Mbps )
      Speed Up 614.58 Kbps ( 0.6 Mbps )
      Port 8095
      Server speedtest1.adslguide.org.uk

      This is the latest speed test i've done

      I don't have an ethernet connection on my pc so its wireless via a 'Netgear WG111' (next to router)
      The telephone line is an extention of about 25" with 1 telephone on main socket
      I also use a new laptop but not tested the speed on that as yet.

      I have Sky Max but considering Mid

      I live approx 1.2 miles from exchange

      Do these figures add up and should I switch to Mid?

      Thanks for any advice

    10. #109
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by Limey View Post
      The test was conducted whilst i was wireless.
      And not that good

      Try wired. Also, run TCPOptimizer.

      If you must be wired, you may improve things with small changes to your router/aerial position and try changing wireless channels.
      Last edited by Saturday; 24-10-07 at 08:26 PM. Reason: Fixed broken tag

    11. #110
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: **run a speedtest and post your results here**

      Quote Originally Posted by corinbis View Post
      Major problems here.
      Yes, looking at your stats you have been very heavily capped - presumably as a result of your discussion with Sky over your connection/line problems.

      As you are so heavily capped, running a comparison between your test socket connection and a normal socket is pointless. What you need to do is call Sky and get through to Tier 3 and ask for the cap to be lifted (leave your router connected to the test socket). They will adjust your connection to the highest speed they can until errors start to arise. Once they've done that post your stats to the router stats forum and ask for an assessment. Depending on what appears, there may be an opportunity to improve things further e.g. your line attenuation would possibly support a sync of ~6000kbps (6meg) so 2meg should be easily achievable.

     

     
    Page 11 of 71 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION