Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

    This is a discussion on Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for all your help guys Its great to see a community so willing to help others even though I ...

    1. #11
      donerkebab's Avatar
      donerkebab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: letchworth
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      Thanks for all your help guys
      Its great to see a community so willing to help others even though I have yet to brave Sky Technical support

      Those previous results were taken about 1 meter away from the router with excellent signal strength (56 Mbps)
      Looks like I will be sticking to wired for dloads and leave wireless for just browsing.

      However going by my previous router stats would you guys recommend altering any other settings - I've already disabled UPnP.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      Not a lot else you can do. YOu just need to improve your wireless connection. YOu could invest in a different antenna for the router which may improve the wireless connection, but the investment may not redeem any better results.

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      Oh you could try changing the channel that the wireles broadcasts on.

    5. #14
      donerkebab's Avatar
      donerkebab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: letchworth
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      Please help - Sky mid BB has been fine for last few months - this past week am strugling to even over 100KB dloads wired!!!!!

      Will post stats in next post
      Any help would be appreciated


    6. #15
      donerkebab's Avatar
      donerkebab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: letchworth
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      Here are my stats - thanks in advance

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 128 Kbps, Downstream rate = 128 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 33.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 29.0 19.5
      Pwr(dBm): 9.7 0.3
      Max(Kbps): 9952 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 128 128
      G.dmt framing
      K: 5(0) 5
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 16
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 5 5
      M: 8 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 10.6666 18.6666
      L: 48 48
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 525655 525653
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 4468076 2234025
      RSCorr: 0 6
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2697931 0
      Data Cells: 661406 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 26 0
      Total time = 2 hours 29 min 34 sec
      SF = 525655
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 29 min 34 sec
      SF = 525655
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 34 sec
      SF = 51401
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      Your problem is that you have been very heavily capped (128kbps up and down). Sky don't normally touch lines without a prompt. Have you called them recently about a problem?

      There's nothing you can do yourself to resolve this. You need to call Sky and get through to T3 to find out what's going on.

      Although Sky sometimes cap this heavily for testing purposes when they find a particularly severe line problem (usually following a call from the customer) I suspect it's the dreaded "auto profile" change. Basically it seems they have an auto process that does this sort of stupidity without human interference!

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Migrated from Namesco to Sky Mid - please check stats

      ^i'd assume he'd called in with no connection at all as thats the test speed to get the line working...now its back up the agent didnt think to set the line back up again

      back on the phone to Sky you go....lol
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION