Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    no test socket?

    This is a discussion on no test socket? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have 2 phone sockets at house but in both those i dnt have test socket how come? they r ...

    1. #1
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      no test socket?

      i have 2 phone sockets at house but in both those i dnt have test socket how come? they r very old so what should i do to get one?
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      badasschris's Avatar
      badasschris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no test socket?

      are you sure you don't have another socket? I'm just saying this because our master socket has been put in our airing cupboard. if you want a master socket to test your bb connection try disconnecting wires 3 & 4 I was told to do that and it sorted out all my problems

    4. #3
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no test socket?

      i just removed all just left 2 and 5
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: no test socket?

      firstly, why not just continue one thread rather than starting loads for the same issues??

      secondly, if u wanted a new master you'd have to get an engineer out (which'd cost you) and get it replaced - think it'd have to be BT too as they own the box......prob worth while though if it helps with connection. Since getting a filtered faceplate and removing the ring wire my sync speed has doubled (although im sure my line profile is the same - don't get much more than 250KB/sec on downloads but i can live with it as i live in the sticks, lol!!!)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      kc50's Avatar
      kc50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hednesford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Hednesford Staffordshire
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no test socket?

      Just approached BT to install a new socket and you're looking at 200+

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: no test socket?

      Another thread closed. Please use just one

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...ease-help.html

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION