Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Is It True

    This is a discussion on Is It True within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ....that when I get Sky BB Max, they cap my line at 8MB before testing my line can support anymore. ...

    1. #1
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is It True

      ....that when I get Sky BB Max, they cap my line at 8MB before testing my line can support anymore.

      I'm 150 metres away from the exchange, I'm sure it should support 16Mb, (well that's what they said when I ordered it). Activation date next week. Hope all goes well.

      If I am only getting 8MB should I call TS and ask to be put through to T3 so they can remove the cap. And also do something about Ping problems (as it looks like everbody has them).

      However, on AOL up until switchover (finally rid of them) and getting 112ms Ping which is awful. Surely SKY is better than that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is It True

      Chances are if your line can support it, you will get as near to 16mb as possible. You only normally get capped if they detect problems on your line.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is It True

      not to sound harsh, but sky don't really give a **** about pings....If you get an agent who'll help then great, but its not a service aimed at gaming

      EDIT: and you'll be set to 16MB from the outset (id imagine) - its only those further than 2k from their exchange that go to 8MB first until proved otherwise
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is It True

      have to agree with IANTE on this, i am also quite close to he exchange and was put straight on to 16mb adsl2+, i also agree that they dont seem to give a **** about gamers, but for how long they keep this attitude up remains to be seen, think about it, if they catered for everyone they would stitch the uk bb market up fullstop.


    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is It True

      ^ but they'd also have to rethink the entire profile strategy as at the mo its quite flawed.....will prob happen eventually tho!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is It True

      hope your right mate, personally at the mo i'm well chuffed with my sky, and i'm a gamer ( some might disagree - lol ), but any profile changes that could be made for the better would be welcome, like i said if they play their cards right they could stitch the market up


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION