Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Painfully slow connection - total novice needs help

This is a discussion on Painfully slow connection - total novice needs help within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, here's the problem; i'm using wireless with my laptop, initially I get 54 mb/s (by hovering over the wireless ...

Helen_kimber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Painfully slow connection - total novice needs help

Ok, here's the problem; i'm using wireless with my laptop, initially I get 54 mb/s (by hovering over the wireless icon) this slowly drops to 24 mb/s then eventually 1 mb/s. The whole thing is slow, I can't load websites very well and I really need this to be fixed (starting a new job working from home soon)

I can right click on the wireless icon, click repair, it's clears cache's resets my address and it works again for a minute or two.

I've phoned sky's technical help, and it's very frustrating, i've changed over micro filters, unplugged things, and they just don't seem to know that the problem is, or be able to explain to me what exactly they want to do.

I've done and online broadband test, and it come back as 200 bits/second which is rubbish as I've purchased 16 mb/s from Sky (appologies if the units are incorrect)

So from this forum I can see people checking router stats, or changing channels (no idea what to do there) or using TCP optimiser.

Where should I start? any suggestions?

Many thanks

Helen

2. Advertisement
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks