Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

    This is a discussion on my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ??? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5728 Kbps ...

    1. #1
      charmed12007's Avatar
      charmed12007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: lisburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      lisburn
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5728 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 51.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 10.5
      Max(Kbps): 6400 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 5728 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 180(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 180 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0883 8.6153
      L: 1448 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 113505 113503
      SFErr: 0 24
      RS: 7718368 964775
      RSCorr: 1151 70
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 20
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 26075866 0
      Data Cells: 306835 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 31 0
      Total time = 32 min 53 sec
      SF = 113505
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 32 min 53 sec
      SF = 113505
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 53 sec
      SF = 10175
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50400
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sky_Surfer's Avatar
      Sky_Surfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      Quote Originally Posted by charmed12007 View Post
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5728 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 51.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 10.5
      Max(Kbps): 6400 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 5728 768

      In a word no! your attenuation is too high to support a stable connection on adsl2


    4. #3
      charmed12007's Avatar
      charmed12007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: lisburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      lisburn
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      thanx for the quick response

    5. #4
      Sky_Surfer's Avatar
      Sky_Surfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      No problem but a word of advise check back on this thread as im no stats expert. From the little knowledge I have I say no!! But you can be sure one of the stat experts will correct me if im wrong.


    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      You're absolutely right Sky_User.

      A reasonable rule of thumb is that if you're on G.DMT and your attenuation is over 45db, G.DMT is best (same speed as ADSL2+ but more stable), at 40-45db there may be an improvement in speed switching to ADSL2+ but stability will be less good so it isn't advised, under 40db and ADSL2+ should give more speed and the same stability.

      If you're already on ADSL2+ then you need to add 2-3db to the above.

      Different lines behave differently so only use the above as an indication not a guarantee.

    7. #6
      charmed12007's Avatar
      charmed12007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: lisburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      lisburn
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      thanks again just trying to get something for nothing lol

    8. #7
      Sky_Surfer's Avatar
      Sky_Surfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats should i ask to be on adsl2 ???

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      A reasonable rule of thumb is that if you're on G.DMT and your attenuation is over 45db, G.DMT is best (same speed as ADSL2+ but more stable), at 40-45db there may be an improvement in speed switching to ADSL2+ but stability will be less good so it isn't advised, under 40db and ADSL2+ should give more speed and the same stability.
      From the horses mouth so to speak! lol

      I gave my advise on what I have previously read from Saturdays posts and those that are interested might find this tutorial by the aforementioned horse of use!
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION