Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New activation - low noise margin?

    This is a discussion on New activation - low noise margin? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Just activated Sky Max ADSL today and so far everything seems fine (at least once the router was ...

    1. #1
      oext's Avatar
      oext is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New activation - low noise margin?

      Hi all,

      Just activated Sky Max ADSL today and so far everything seems fine (at least once the router was upgraded to the latest Netgear firmware) but was wondering if I should be at all concerned about the relatively low 'noise margin' (as compared to many of the other stats I'm seeing posted)?


      ----------


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13705 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 8.3
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 13332 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13705 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 110 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5557 7.7037
      L: 3671 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 102132 96811
      SFErr: 9 1
      RS: 11847348 854165
      RSCorr: 100707 0
      RSUnCorr: 384 0

      HEC: 8 0
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 53195927 3454447
      Data Cells: 650475 117216
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 20
      AS: 1646

      INP: 1.11 2.37
      PER: 16.11 17.81
      delay: 8.89 15.40
      OR: 57.58 33.23

      Bitswap: 161 31

      Total time = 27 min 49 sec
      SF = 102132
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 1 day time = 27 min 49 sec
      SF = 102132
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 49 sec
      SF = 47737
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54395
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0


      ----------


      Results of 4 speedtests which were run one after the other (wired connection):








      Last edited by oext; 31-07-07 at 12:16 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      oext's Avatar
      oext is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      Fresh reboot of router gives the following (immediately after reboot cycle complete):


      ----------


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13738 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.9 13.5
      Attn(dB): 15.5 8.3
      Pwr(dBm): 13.5 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 13432 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13738 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 110 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5543 7.7037
      L: 3680 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 7548 7138
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 875646 62985
      RSCorr: 21853 851968
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3938569 209685
      Data Cells: 2547 404
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 21
      AS: 121

      INP: 1.11 2.37
      PER: 16.07 17.81
      delay: 8.86 15.40
      OR: 57.72 33.23

      Bitswap: 19 1

      Total time = 2 min 24 sec
      SF = 7548
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 24 sec
      SF = 7548
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 24 sec
      SF = 7548
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      No, your noise margin is what you'd expect i.e. completely normal. Please read the first sticky in my signature for a detailed explanation.

      What is odd is that your actual rate is higher than your router reported max rate. Those don't look like standard Sky router stats. Are you using a different Netgear router/firmware?
      Last edited by Saturday; 31-07-07 at 09:29 AM.

    5. #4
      oext's Avatar
      oext is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      Thanks for the reply.

      Had read the sticky but thought it best to confirm as just a little concerned that the SNR may drop to undesirable levels during the evening etc.
      (In fact awoke this morning to find the connection dead with upstream SNR at 2.9dB).

      Firmware has been upgraded to the latest Netgear v1.02.09 as had some drop-outs in the first few hours after activation and had read positive reports of the newer, non-Sky firmware.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      If your noise margin is dropping to unacceptable levels during the normal daily cycle then you'll have to fix it at a higher point and take the (small) speed hit I'm afraid.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      plus caused u've flashed the router Sky won't support u anyway....having said that, line looks fine - are you in ur master socket?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      oext's Avatar
      oext is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      plus caused u've flashed the router Sky won't support u anyway....having said that, line looks fine - are you in ur master socket?
      Can always flash back later if I encounter any modem/router-specific problems I guess.

      Currently connected to the master via an ADSL Nation XTE2005 faceplate.
      Have just run a couple of extensions off this (using twisted pair phone cable via the filtered telephone terminals) for use with the SKY+ boxes being installed later today.

      Will later in the week run a further extension off the unfiltered ADSL terminals using Cat5e cable so as to relocate the modem/router higher in the house (as my 2 primary use PCs are upstairs and I prefer a wired network connection to them. It also better serves the wireless machines in the house wrt wireless network coverage).

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      id strongly advise not to run phone extentions but run ethernet instead - especially if ur gonna run cables anyway.....

      wireless is a fad and will die a death soon - imagine everyone in your town using wireless, prob all routers set on maximum signal strength and all on the same channel? no wonder people have problems with it!!!! wired all day for me...
      Last edited by IWasNotTheEnemy; 31-07-07 at 11:44 AM.
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      oext's Avatar
      oext is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      id strongly advise not to run phone extentions but run ethernet instead - especially if ur gonna run cables anyway.....
      Unfortunately the layout of the house makes running multiple ethernet cables (internally) upstairs very messy indeed (one room's on the 3rd floor, one on the 2nd).

      I though it'd be much cleaner in this case to wire from the ADSL terminals using Cat5e to the higher room and locate the modem/router there and then wire ethernet (directly off the modem/router) to the lower room externally (pretty short run of less than 10m).

      How inferior would this be to running ethernet from the router coming off the master downstairs, as it could be done but not easily, by running a decent length (50m+) of Cat5e/Cat6 externally?
      Last edited by oext; 31-07-07 at 12:10 PM.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New activation - low noise margin?

      cause any phone extention (no matter how good) will not as good as ethernet - having said that some people get lucky but id imagine ur sync would drop because of it. nothing to say dont give it a go, this is just my opinion. personally, ive ran 3 ethernet cables around the house for myself, dad and sister. took a while but now its 100% stable (connection to the router anyways - crappy phone wire in my village means it drops if its windy/raining heavily but i accept that and get on with it!! lol)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION