Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Yet another slow speed thread.

    This is a discussion on Yet another slow speed thread. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Even if you are on Connect it shouldn't make any difference as the router is receiving 8Mb, so I would ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Even if you are on Connect it shouldn't make any difference as the router is receiving 8Mb, so I would expect a dl of around 6-7Mb.

      Do you have a laptop that you can borrow?

      have you rebooted the router at all to see if there was a problem.

      you could also trya factory reset of the router (there's a pin hole I think at the back of the router).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      2nd degree's Avatar
      2nd degree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Ashford
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Even if you are on Connect it shouldn't make any difference as the router is receiving 8Mb, so I would expect a dl of around 6-7Mb.

      Do you have a laptop that you can borrow?

      have you rebooted the router at all to see if there was a problem.

      you could also trya factory reset of the router (there's a pin hole I think at the back of the router).
      Tried rebooting and factory resetting of the router - no joy. Rang Sky who, as you expected cannot find a problem, did confirm I was Connect though. Just said to ring back if the problem continues. Will try and borrow a laptop from my neighbour later.

      Thanks for your help guys. Hopefully I'll get to the bottom of this.

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      as i say, the router is receiving 8mb, so sky cant do much to help.

      the only thing that sky could help with is if the router itself has developed a fault. If you have another router, then try that as well (you will need to use mognuts util to extract your username and password first).

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      try the speed test on my sig and see what you get. also, you'd need to run it a LOT longer than 20 mins to get a true reading of the connection but its gonna be something to do with the connection to the PC - wireless or otherwise - probably
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      2nd degree's Avatar
      2nd degree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Ashford
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      try the speed test on my sig and see what you get. also, you'd need to run it a LOT longer than 20 mins to get a true reading of the connection but its gonna be something to do with the connection to the PC - wireless or otherwise - probably
      Tried the test in your sig. 15MB file took 4min 15 sec to download. Was going to borrow my neighbours laptop to check that it was not my PC but she has just had some bad news so it doesn't seem appopriate to ask at the moment. Really can't think that it is my PC and am leaning towards a faulty router but you never know. Will give it acouple of days, borrow a laptop and decide where to go from there.

    7. #16
      2nd degree's Avatar
      2nd degree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Ashford
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UPDATE: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Update. My connection has gradually got faster, and is now back up to about 3Mbps. So probably not my PC or router and prehaps more to do with training on the connect package. Hopefully I'll soon be getting somewhere in the region of 4-6Mbps soon!

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: UPDATE: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Just to confirm, the training period affects the Router Sync Rate first,which in turn impacts your actual DL rate.

      if when you DL speeds were low, the router was still synched at a high figure, then it's nothing to do with the training period.

      the DL rate should be around 70-80% of the router sync rate.

    9. #18
      2nd degree's Avatar
      2nd degree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Ashford
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Makes sense. Well I don't think I'll ever get to the root cause, but I'm now up to 3.5Mbps so I'm not complaining.

    10. #19
      ackers's Avatar
      ackers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: horsforth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      Rather than start a new thread can I tag onto this one. I wanted the Max but they put me on the connect and said my max speed is 2Mb, this was faster than my NTL so I signed up (February). I have never managed to get more than 30KB/s, the router stats are DS 2848Kbps, attenuation 53.0 db, noise 5.6 db, US 448 Kbps, 29.5 db, 17.0 db. The connection icon tells me I am connected at 2.8 Mbps. I have tried the optimizer, I have System Mechanic and Diskeeper installed on XP, I have bought a new PC, I have tried Vista, I have tried wireless and cable. Every speed test I run says 243 Kbps (30KB/s). I am only a couple of K's from the Horsforth exchange. I was reading another thread on speed testing and it suggested downloading a large file to get a true speed reading, if I download a 30 Mb PDF I can brew a cup of tea waiting for it to finish. Also, like 2nd degree, I have to keep reseting my router. Am I being capped or is this the best I can expect.

      As an add on, I lost connection while typing this note, rebooted the router and the DL speed is now 3008, the rest of the stats are the same.
      Last edited by ackers; 27-07-07 at 07:11 PM.

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Yet another slow speed thread.

      if u r being capped, its by Sky - but remember on Connct you're subject to BT throttling connections...(i think)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION