Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Mid package speed problem

    This is a discussion on Mid package speed problem within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello All I hope this is the correct way to request help. I've contacted Sky support directly but they're never ...

    1. #1
      cs95aam's Avatar
      cs95aam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Mid package speed problem

      Hello All

      I hope this is the correct way to request help. I've contacted Sky support directly but they're never helpful nor do they get back to me.

      I've beenon the Mid package since February 2007 however my speed is always limited to 2048kbps. It never changes. I asked somebody else about this and they said that the Line Attentuation and Noise Margin were similar to that of a higher speed connection and its possible my connection may be capped.

      According to Samknows I am about 1.92km from the BT exchange.

      Here are my stats. I'd appreciate some advice on how to do something about it.

      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation ......33 db .....19 db
      Noise Margin ............28.4 db ....14db

      I tried attaching a screen print of the full results but they end up looking too small. I hope the above is sufficient.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      Looks like you've been capped to me, have you asked Sky CS about this?


    4. #3
      cs95aam's Avatar
      cs95aam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      I will ask SKY. Since I posted I've tried a number of techniques, some mentioned here. I plugged into the master socket. We removed wire number 3 from all the sockets. I downloaded registry changing software to modify the TCP/IP settings. Nothing has worked.

      Why would they do this? If so what can I do?

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      Deffo looks like your capped, they may have done it because there were high errors on your line when it was set up. You need to get the cap removed, then address any line error problems, often caused by internal wiring issues. When testing you should use the test socket behind the face plate of your master socket assuming you have an NTE5. This disconnects any extension wiring.

    6. #5
      cs95aam's Avatar
      cs95aam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      When I ordered there was a two month delay because yes as you mention there were "problems at the exchange". They wouldnt tell me anymore than that. I was close to giving up and cancelling but they told me it would take a month to process the cancellation and to be honest this seemed like the best deal for the price.

      I'm not sure what you mean by an NTE5 we have a BT master socket. Its split into two sections and is pretty similar to the diagrams in the links above. I did test by plugging directly into the socket behind the plate.

      Anyway I will call Sky again and ask them about capping the speed. Do you think I would be better off sticking with a problem free slower connection or a problematic possibly higher speed connection?

    7. #6
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      As you have done some remedial works since it was installed, removing wire 3 etc, which may have been the cause of interference and therefore the reason for the cap in the first place. I think you should now see if removing the cap will provide you with a faster and stable connection. In any case, you've nothing to lose, if there is still interference, they can reintroduce the cap!

      Go for it, and don't take no for an answer!!

      PS. Yes, you do have an NTE5

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      you're defo on the Base settings so go through saying that you have error 300 or you have a slow speed. try between 8-9am as i was sat twiddling my thumbs until half 9 this morning...

    9. #8
      cs95aam's Avatar
      cs95aam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      I called Sky Broadband support and didnt get a very helpful response.

      He claimed that there wasnt a a cap on the line. The person I spoke to asked why I wanted a higher speed. Well why not?

      I asked if it was possible to get a higher speed. The answer was only if I upgraded to the Max package in which case I'd get about 4Mb - whoopee!

      So theoretically it was possible but only if I paid more. He said that BT did something called "rambling" which was to test the connection until they find a point where the speed is good without compromising quality.

      So really that doesnt leave me with much choice. I'm not going to pay extra just for the possible extra 2Mb.

    10. #9
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Mid package speed problem

      Sky man is speaking with forked tongue, clearly this service agent hasn't got a clue, unless you line is noisy with your attenuation I would expect you to get an 8mbps sync with your mid package.
      All I can suggest is that you either ring again or email them, and get on to someone with a bit more knowledge. Try quoting your routerstats
      You could always try James Murdoch if this fails.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION