Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Broadband training period.

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband training period. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, I've just had my Sky Broadband Max activated on tueday. I understand that there is a 10 day training ...

    1. #1
      markturnip's Avatar
      markturnip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Purley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband training period.

      Hey, I've just had my Sky Broadband Max activated on tueday. I understand that there is a 10 day training period (am I correct) and have read a few bits of info on what happens during then. I just wonder if there is anything I can do to ensure I get the best speed out of my broadband after the 10 days.

      For example would installing the UbertGT firmware to allow me control the SNR % enable me to get better speeds?

      Thanks

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Broadband training period.

      Hi

      There is no training period on MAX, Base, Mid, only on Connect, as this is effectively a BT ADSLMAX product, which is subjected to that type of behaviour.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 27-06-07 at 06:10 PM. Reason: added more info
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      markturnip's Avatar
      markturnip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Purley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband training period.

      oh, ok. Thanks. So it should be running at it's full capacity by now?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Broadband training period.

      Yes, couple of things you can try:

      1) Try your test socket

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view.php?pg=master

      2) Post your stats before and after doing 1)

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view.php?pg=routerstats
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      markturnip's Avatar
      markturnip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Purley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband training period.

      Hey, thanks for that. I don't have a phone socket like that, but I'll check what the connection is like when I wire the router directly up to the junction box when my line comes in.

      Here is my status at the moment. My download connection was about 8mb yesturday.

      Connection Speed
      D/U
      6313 kbps 764 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      D/U
      45.5 db 27.1 db

      Noise Margin
      D/U
      10.8 db 12.0 db

      Is there any other information I can place here for more detail?

    7. #6
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband training period.

      Continued here regarding stats & the possibility of capping:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...ly-capped.html

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband training period.

      looking at that the line wont be caped (upload speed is at what you see when on ADSL2+) so line prob cant go faster (in its current state)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION