Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, ive been on sky max 16mbit for around 3 weeks now and have experienced extremely slow speeds for the ...

    1. #1
      navid's Avatar
      navid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      Hi, ive been on sky max 16mbit for around 3 weeks now and have experienced extremely slow speeds for the majority of this period: on average, i get 0.5-0.6Mbit (i download alot and have been getting 50-70KB/s so i'm not quoting this from a speed test), and for about 20 minutes a week it will go at 9.8+ Mbit. My stats are as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5 db 13.8 db
      Noise Margin 11.7 db 13.0 db

      Any ideas on how i can improve the speed? I am wired at the moment and will try moving the pc downstairs to see if it is the wireless that is causing the drop in speed, but the signal is 85%+ at all times regardless.

      Edit: I have also called sky and was advised to reset the modem using pin in the small hole, after doing this the speed jumped from 0.6Mbit to 9.8Mbit, but then after about 10 minutes it reduced to 0.6Mbit. I tried this a few more times but it no longer had the same effect.
      Last edited by navid; 01-06-07 at 01:35 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      Could be line errors you need to extract you detailed router stats using this Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 then post them here, they may show up the problem.

    4. #3
      navid's Avatar
      navid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.6 12.5
      Attn(dB): 25.5 13.8
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18008 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 853128 853126
      SFErr: 1513 1
      RS: 110906746 7251571
      RSCorr: 16942 0
      RSUnCorr: 17834 0

      HEC: 1521 0
      OCD: 2125 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 498992380 24889042
      Data Cells: 4874730 456940
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 25 1
      SES: 25 0
      UAS: 18 91
      Total time = 3 hours 50 min 37 sec
      SF = 853128
      CRC = 1513
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 1 day time = 3 hours 50 min 37 sec
      SF = 853128
      CRC = 1513
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 37 sec
      SF = 20877
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by navid; 01-06-07 at 02:34 PM.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      Ok you are showing a few CRC errors. I have copy one of my post from another thread below, go through the checks and see if it helps.

      If your master socket is a NTE5 if you remove the 2 screws and pull the bottom half of the face plate off you should find a test socket behind the plate, by pulling the face plate off it should disconnect all hardwired extension cables, this is how BT test the line if you were to call them out, by plugging in the test socket it isolates a problem to there wiring ie the line or your wiring. You should plug the router via a filter into that test socket, if your noise margin goe's up and your problems go away then it is internal wiring causing the problem, which was the case with mine.
      If the master is an older non NTE5 the only way to do the test is to physically disconnect the extension cables inside the socket leaving just 2 wires connected pins 2 and 5 from the incoming BT line.
      If disconnecting the extensions improves things then go round all the extension sockets and disconnect all wires apart from pins 2 and 5 then reconnect at the master or put the face plate back on and try again.
      In my case it was the ring/bell wire pin 6 which was generating major noise, these extra connections are not required with modern phones so disconnecting the extra wires shouldn't stop the phones ringing.
      Oh yeah worth disconnecting the Sky box just in case, they have been known to gererate noise.

    6. #5
      navid's Avatar
      navid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      Plugged in to test socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5 db 13.8 db
      Noise Margin 11.7 db 13.0 db

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.7 13.5
      Attn(dB): 25.5 13.8
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18064 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 20876 20874
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 2713988 177429
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 12232350 572057
      Data Cells: 334937 51644
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 130
      Total time = 5 min 58 sec
      SF = 20876
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 5 min 58 sec
      SF = 20876
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 58 sec
      SF = 20876
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Didnt seem to change... =x

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      What speedtest are you using as tbh not many of them are reliable, I would really download -- ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/mirror/ftp.fr...4-bootonly.iso

      and measure the speed.
      You have a pretty decent line, No obvious signs of extreme errors, Though 1500 for about 3 hours could mount up.

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      It did the CRC errors are zero but you need to run it plugged into that test socket for an hour or two to see if they re occur. Brows the net or download something during that time to "work the line" if you are not using the net the errors may not occur.

    9. #8
      navid's Avatar
      navid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX..extremely slow speeds

      Thanks for the help guys, but i moved my pc into the room with the router and now im getting 13Mbit so it was the wireless all along

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION