Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Getting better speeds

    This is a discussion on Getting better speeds within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have Sky Max and was told I should be able to get speeds of approximately 14Mbps. I've been using ...

    1. #1
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting better speeds

      I have Sky Max and was told I should be able to get speeds of approximately 14Mbps. I've been using it for about 5 days now and I am only connecting at about 4Mbps. I've read posts here and think I should be able to get better performance. I live just over a mile from the exchange and my stats are as follows:

      ADSL Link

      Downstream
      Connection Speed - 4064 kbps
      Line Attenuation - 37.0 db
      Noise Margin - 6.9 db

      Upstream
      Connection Speed - 544 kbps
      Line Attenuation - 31.5 db
      Noise Margin - 7.0 db

      My connection is stable and I don't suffer with drop-outs. What can I do to try and increase my connection speed. I've heard people mention about trying the BT master socket by un-clipping the front of the box. If I do this and notice a speed boost, what do I then do? Can I leave the router plugged in to that?

      If I don't get a higher connection speed, is there anything else I can do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting better speeds

      This is interesting, it turns out I do have a fault on one of the extensions in my house!

      I followed the advise given about testing the master socket and immediately my speed jumped from 4Mbps to 8Mbps. I discovered that some bright spark (looks innocent) put a carpet tack into the extension cable.....

      Now, I've relocated my router to another extension and my new stats are as follows:

      ADSL Link

      Downstream
      Connection Speed - 8096 kbps
      Line Attenuation - 23.0 db
      Noise Margin - 11.4 db

      Upstream
      Connection Speed - 736 kbps
      Line Attenuation - 15.5 db
      Noise Margin - 7.0 db

      Perhaps I'm getting greedy now, but 8Mbps still seems slow for those line stats. Sure I've just doubled my speed but can I go faster? Will the connection get faster automatically? Or am I just being too optimistic?

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Getting better speeds

      Your attenuation has dropped considerably, I have seen the attenuation change around 1-2dB but that is amazing.

      Looking at your stats, If 23.0dB is your attenuation, You should be getting alot more, However, the "8096 kbps" Downstream suggests you either have been capped as that noise margin is dead set as you could most definately see more then 10Mb.

      Could you post your details modem statistics,
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      "detailed modem statistics"

    5. #4
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting better speeds

      Hi, I've done what you said and it came back with a lot of data, quite a bit of which is empty. Not sure if you need it all, but thought I'd post it anyway, you can just ignore what's not needed. Does this shed any light on anything?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 704 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.4 7.0
      Attn(dB): 23.0 15.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 9792 800
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 704
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 23
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6666
      L: 2040 192
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 14408 14406
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1959538 122451
      RSCorr: 4 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 4681104 0
      Data Cells: 13251 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 24 0
      Total time = 4 min 38 sec
      SF = 14408
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 4 min 38 sec
      SF = 14408
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 38 sec
      SF = 14408
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Getting better speeds

      Mode: G.DMT
      That suggests you are capped, as Max is ADSL2+, Your line is totally error free as of now, You could Quiz Sky as to why they have done this, As they should be willing oto remove it as, I dont see any problems with it, and even though its only been up 4 Mins 38 Secs, There doesnt seem to be heavy error issues.

    7. #6
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting better speeds

      I'll phone them tomorrow, but what should I ask them to do? How do I best explain the situation? Will the phone monkeys be able to help or will I need to speak to someone who knows what they are doing.. if such a person exists at Sky broadband

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Getting better speeds

      @luffer, you will need to speak to t3. explain that you have been capped but your att and stats suggest you should be able to sync at a higher speed. As fibre says there are no errors showing in your stats but they do relate to a very short period of time. You may want to check them again tomorrow to ensure the errors are minimal over an extended connection period. Assuming there are no errors and you can get changed over to adsl2+ you should see 14 to 16 meg sync.
      dave


    9. #8
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting better speeds

      Here are my stats again after 8 hours. Not sure what all the different abbreviations mean, can anyone explain and tell me what they are and what they mean. For example, which one tells you the error rate?


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 23.0 15.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.8
      Max(Kbps): 9728 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6666
      L: 2040 192
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 296645 296643
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 40343748 2521465
      RSCorr: 154 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 96306362 0
      Data Cells: 397732 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 13 0
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 375 0
      Total time = 8 hours 1 min 39 sec
      SF = 1664248
      CRC = 176
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 1 min 39 sec
      SF = 1664248
      CRC = 176
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 39 sec
      SF = 5823
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Getting better speeds

      ^^ Yeah,

      Those stats look OK! Call them!

      Whatever you do, Dont expect for that to removed on 1st phone call, It usually takes 2-3.
      Explain to them, You have been CAPPED (You might need to define that word to Tier1)
      and Say you would like that CAP removed, If they start giving you a run around, Say you would like to speak to Tier3 as you have done the obvious troubleshooting, Changing Sockets etc etc.
      Dont fall for the Change the Master Socket and Wait 48 Hours, Demand! Demand! Demand!

      At the end of the day, The only reason why they wouldnt put you back on ADSL2+ is if they didnt have the capacity, As there is no harm in putting you on ADSL2+ for you to check for yourself if you experience problems.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Getting better speeds

      Theres a post on here somewhere, cant find it at the moment, by saturday that explains what all the acronyms stand for. But basically :-

      Total time = 8 hours 1 min 39 sec = period stats relate to
      SF = 1664248 = total data sent / received ?
      CRC = 176 = cyclic redundancy check - error
      LOS = 1 = cant remember what it stands for - error
      LOF = 0 = cant remember what it stands for - error
      ES = 13 = errored seconds - error

      dave


     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION