Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    How can you tell if you're capped?

    This is a discussion on How can you tell if you're capped? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Was working OK at 1800bps (albeit with errors) but now I'm down to less than 300kbps. Is it possible Sky ...

    1. #1
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How can you tell if you're capped?

      Was working OK at 1800bps (albeit with errors) but now I'm down to less than 300kbps.

      Is it possible Sky have capped me? How do I tell?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: How can you tell if you're capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by psychocandy View Post
      Is it possible Sky have capped me? How do I tell?
      By looking at your attenuation, noise margin and sync speeds.

    4. #3
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can you tell if you're capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      By looking at your attenuation, noise margin and sync speeds.
      Do you mean if your sync speed is low and your noise margin is high?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: How can you tell if you're capped?

      If your sync speed is low for your attenuation and your noise margin is high then that's a good indicator of being capped. You should also check the max rate shown in your stats. Again, a big gap between the max rate figure and the actual rate can suggest capping.

    6. #5
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can you tell if you're capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      If your sync speed is low for your attenuation and your noise margin is high then that's a good indicator of being capped. You should also check the max rate shown in your stats. Again, a big gap between the max rate figure and the actual rate can suggest capping.
      Ok. Heres my current stats. The thing I dont understand is that this was working at 1800 (and nothing has changed!).

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 320 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.3 8.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 14.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 384 896
      Rate (Kbps): 320 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 11(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 8 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 11 25
      M: 16 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 17.3333 8.6153
      L: 96 208
      D: 8 8
      Counters
      SF: 615048 615046
      SFErr: 98 332
      RS: 2613960 5227891
      RSCorr: 258785 2134
      RSUnCorr: 337 0

      HEC: 92 252
      OCD: 0 64
      LCD: 0 4
      Total Cells: 7890791 0
      Data Cells: 662516 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5897 0
      SES: 5897 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 2 hours 54 min 42 sec
      SF = 615048
      CRC = 98
      LOS = 12195
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5897
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 54 min 42 sec
      SF = 615048
      CRC = 98
      LOS = 12195
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5897
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 42 sec
      SF = 34287
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 669
      LOF = 0
      ES = 316
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 993
      LOF = 0
      ES = 547
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1030
      LOF = 0
      ES = 522
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 1063
      LOF = 0
      ES = 491
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 976
      LOF = 0
      ES = 495
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: How can you tell if you're capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by psychocandy View Post
      Ok. Heres my current stats. The thing I dont understand is that this was working at 1800 (and nothing has changed!).
      I'm afraid it must have i.e. your noise must have got worse.

      Your stats show you are constantly losing signal (not the same as losing connection).

    8. #7
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can you tell if you're capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      I'm afraid it must have i.e. your noise must have got worse.

      Your stats show you are constantly losing signal (not the same as losing connection).
      Hmmm. I'm still using the same extension lead that I was last week.

      Perhaps the cats been chewing it !!!! :-) Maybe I'll have another blast at the test socket....

      Could it be something that BT or Sky have done?

      I've got my old Belkin router still. I could stick my username/password in there and give that a try.
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION