Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Have i been capped? (2)

    This is a discussion on Have i been capped? (2) within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, this is my first post. I too think I'm being capped. I've had Sky Broadband Connect (upto 8meg) ...

    1. #1
      decampo's Avatar
      decampo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped?

      Hi all, this is my first post.

      I too think I'm being capped. I've had Sky Broadband Connect (upto 8meg) for around 2 months now and over the past week my connection speed has dropped to around 1-2 meg at peak times, whereas before I was always getting around 5-7 meg. Funnily enough, this speed drop happened after a couple of downloads one weekend. Since then I have contacted Sky on numerous occasions and they keep telling me that everything is fine and that I'm not being capped, and that I should be getting around 7 meg!!! I have tried everything from resetting the router (by powering off, using the reboot function in the browser and at the back of the router) and tried the master test socket but none of this seems to make a difference.

      Please guys help, as I am at a loss. I have told them that the only explanation can be that they are capping me (especially as soon as I complained my speed went back up to 5 meg) but they say that they are definitely not capping me. Also, there technical support line is a joke!

      Here are my router stats after running a speed test from Speedtest.net in which my download speed was 1109kbps. What speed do you guys think I should be getting based on these stats?:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 24.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T


    4. #3
      gurusan's Avatar
      gurusan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Summertown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      The same thing has just happened to me as well. My router still syncs at almost 7mbit but I only download around 1.5 mbit.

      What is going on?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6848 448
      Line Attenuation 30.0 17.0
      Noise Margin 6.6 23.0

    5. #4
      csmith156's Avatar
      csmith156 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      I'm having exactly the same problem.

      Used to get consistent 7.5 meg speeds. Now in the evenings its capped at about 2 meg.

      After midnight it goes back up to full speed.

      I am especially ****** off about this because before I signed up I was told over the phone that they would not cap my speed or impose a download limit. If I went over 40 GB they said they would charge me up to an extra 17. (I have gone WAY over 40 GB and am happy to pay), but instead they have opted to cripple my download speeds, this is NOT what I signed up for! I was lied to.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      post the link that you are trying.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      ps, I always use this as a good test:

      http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...91/FSXDemo.exe

      I'm happily d/ling from this link at my full speed, no capping.

    8. #7
      gurusan's Avatar
      gurusan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Summertown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      ps, I always use this as a good test:

      http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...91/FSXDemo.exe

      I'm happily d/ling from this link at my full speed, no capping.
      Only getting about 150kb/sec with that. A few weeks ago I could see at least over 600-650kb/sec with most servers.

      See this is my speedtest.net result. It sucks!


      And this is what I got almost 2 months ago.....I am syncing at the same speed now I was then as well...I don't understand!

    9. #8
      Martlaw's Avatar
      Martlaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentham
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Stoke On Trent
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      Same thing happened to me yesterday, i usually get about 3000kbps - 3500kbps, now only at approx 1900kbps...

    10. #9
      csmith156's Avatar
      csmith156 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have i been capped? (2)

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      post the link that you are trying.
      I am connecting to my usenet accounts at giganews and usenetserver.

      I get about 20 mbit connecting to them from my office! So sky are definitely capping me.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION