Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

    This is a discussion on New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help... within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everybody!! I have both Sky+ Box & standard Sky box with all 6 mixes entertainment package as well with ...

    1. #1
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub SR203 / 4.2
      Sky TV: Q 2TB & 4xMinis
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      The Hyde
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

      Hi everybody!! I have both Sky+ Box & standard Sky box with all 6 mixes entertainment package as well with all Sky Movies channels & Sky Sports channels, Sky Talk Unlimited & Sky Broadband Max Package all installed on Wednesday 9th May. Sky customer services told me that my BT phone line accepts up to 13.8 MB. After I have a lot of research about getting the detailed modem statistics from the Internet. I'm 960 metres away (approx 965 metres) from Maida Vale exchange (as the crow flies). I think that I'm capped to 6 MB on ADSL2+ mode. Am I right? I need your help how to improve my download speed up to 16MB. Shall I contact Sky to uncapped my line? But how? I'll really appreciate it, if you help me.

      Anyway, here are my modem statistics as follows:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6695 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.0 12.0
      Attn(dB): 31.5 19.1
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 6832 864
      Rate (Kbps): 6695 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 13 23
      M: 16 8
      T: 15 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 1.0654 7.7037
      L: 1757 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1855211 1855209
      SFErr: 55 2
      RS: 113051956 15769276
      RSCorr: 33823 22
      RSUnCorr: 135 0

      HEC: 45 1
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 475530753 54271574
      Data Cells: 430631 101692
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 26 2
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 8 hours 22 min 13 sec
      SF = 1855211
      CRC = 55
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 26
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 22 min 13 sec
      SF = 1855211
      CRC = 55
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 26
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 13 sec
      SF = 26733
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55436
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55437
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55436
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55437
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

      Welcome to the site jonathanen

      Don't look like you are capped to me.

      Try your test socket behind the master socket

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view.php?pg=master

      And then repost your stats, you are not syncing higher.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub SR203 / 4.2
      Sky TV: Q 2TB & 4xMinis
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      The Hyde
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

      Thanks for the quick reply. But my BT Master socket does not look exactly the same as shown in: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html. Instead, I think I have the old fashion type BT socket and here are the pictures that I have taken with my Premier digital camera as follows:

      http://www.jonathanen.com/pages/Help...t/IMAG0897.JPG and http://www.jonathanen.com/pages/Help...t/IMAG0898.JPG

      But I'll test it out after work around 7pm and I'll post my new modem statistics.

      Actually, hang on... Maybe I'm using triple phone splitter from my BT socket, first socket connects to standard Sky box in the living room. Third socket connects from the phone adaptor to my house phone next to the computer, my Sky broadband wireless router & connection to my Sky+ box in my bedroom fitted with a double splitter onto the microfilter using Masterplug standard 15m extension cable reel from Agros cat no: 552/0255 phone. Inside my bedroom, from the double splitter fitted onto the microfilter, another Agros 15m extension cable connecting to another house phone next to my bed.

      The adaptor connected to the third socket from triple splitter, connected to my bedroom, I fitted another microfilter behind the adaptor connecting to my bedroom, from this microfilter, I connect another Argos 15m extension cable reel connecting to the house phone in the living room and from this adaptor, I connect directly BT cordless phone in the hallway.

      It took me hours to get all the phones working perfectly without interuptions / noises from using the Internet at the same time, also allowing to use the online services from both Sky boxes without interuptions from the phone or the Internet at the same time. And that's the only way I can think of to get all of them working at the same time.
      Last edited by jonathanen; 14-05-07 at 03:28 AM.

    5. #4
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub SR203 / 4.2
      Sky TV: Q 2TB & 4xMinis
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      The Hyde
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

      Hi, I connected the Netgear wireless router/modem directly to my BT socket using only one microfilter to both my modem & my BT cordless phone, and here is my new statistics as follows:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.0 12.5
      Attn(dB): 31.0 18.8
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16284 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 33600 33598
      SFErr: 29 1
      RS: 4368116 285583
      RSCorr: 4250 1
      RSUnCorr: 809 0

      HEC: 29 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 19678653 976499
      Data Cells: 87826 9918
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 1
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 14 692
      Total time = 9 min 24 sec
      SF = 33600
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 24 sec
      SF = 33600
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 24 sec
      SF = 33600
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Thanks very much, all I got to do now is, finding out how to connect 4 house phones, Sky+ box & standard Sky box and my Netgear modem/router to one BT phone socket with only 3 x microfilters & 3 x 15m extension cable reels & 1 x 10m extension cable reel for my standard Sky box in the living room.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

      bet you're well chuffed with those results. That's full whack!

      Good luck with teh re-cabling!!

      I think this post is a really good example of how poor bb performance is sometimes nothing to do with Sky or BT, your connection was almost down by 66% due to your own internal wiring. So many people are quick to slate sky (I know you weren't).

    7. #6
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub SR203 / 4.2
      Sky TV: Q 2TB & 4xMinis
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      The Hyde
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky Broadband Max, I need some help...

      Finally!! I have sorted out the cabling, using all 3 x microfliters, 3 x 15m extension cable reels, 1 x 10m extension cable, 1 x double phone socket & 1 x triple phone socket connecting all 2 corded phones, 1 cordless phone, 1 Sky+ box, 1 standard Sky box & Netgear wireless router/modem.

      I can now use the phone / sky+ or standard sky boxes online service at the same time with the Internet on all the time using the full 15323 kbps without any problems. Much better than 4MB, paying 25 a month to Telewest / Virgin. I'm very glad that I have cancalled my Virgin contract, no need to pay 120 a month anymore, thank god for that. Big thanks to Sky & people in this forum who have helped me. I'm very happy now with a huge smile on my face!! Lovely and sweet.... Lovely and upto 16MB broadband... Well done Sky, you're the best!!
      Last edited by jonathanen; 15-05-07 at 08:32 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION