Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Wireless NIC BroadBand Speed

This is a discussion on Wireless NIC BroadBand Speed within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Everyone! I'm new to sky broadband (Think things went active on the 2nd of May) and I'm having a ...

RMIM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Wireless NIC BroadBand Speed

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to sky broadband (Think things went active on the 2nd of May) and I'm having a little trouble.

I have 3 PC's

I have run some internet speed test using Free Speed Test for Internet Access and Website Speed : FreeSpeedTest.com on all 3 computers.

PC 1 - Hard wired - 4MB/s
      PC 2 - Wireless (dell laptop) - 4MB/s

PC 3 - Wireless - 1MB/s - DabsValue Edimax 802.11g 54Mbps PCI card (EW-7128G)

(PC 3) Wireless nic card I get 1Mb/s from the test but when you hover the mouse point it says connected at 54.0Mb/s Signal strength Excellent.

Why if im connected at 54.0Mb/s cant I get the full speed of 4Mb/s. I have moved the laptop to the same location as the other wireless pc and I get 4Mb/s.

Even stranger is that if I do a file transfer from PC3 to PC1 its fast! - suggesting the reported 54.0Mb/s is true

Why is my internet speed to that PC only 1MB/s and not 4MB/s like the others?

Thanks
      Last edited by RMIM; 11-05-07 at 02:29 AM.

2. Advertisement
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: Wireless NIC BroadBand Speed