Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    TCP Optimiser and Vista

    This is a discussion on TCP Optimiser and Vista within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I had Windows XP and Sky Broadband max and got good stats using the TCP optimiser. I have now ...

    1. #1
      j0n_d's Avatar
      j0n_d is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      TCP Optimiser and Vista

      Hi

      I had Windows XP and Sky Broadband max and got good stats using the TCP optimiser.

      I have now got a new computer with Vista and my stats are constantly bad now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8952 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 15.8 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db 9.5 db


      The download stream was always around 11000/12000 before.

      I would use the TCP optimiser again but Vista won't allow me to use it. Does anyone know how to get this program to work with Vista. Also my internet connection keeps dropping out everyday since I have had Vista.

      Any help would be appreciated!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: TCP Optimiser and Vista

      I really think something else is wrong.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8952 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 15.8 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db 9.5 db

      Is from the router, which is the sync speed to the line, which is before it gets anywhere near Vista.

      Has your wiring changed?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      j0n_d's Avatar
      j0n_d is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TCP Optimiser and Vista

      Not to my knowledge, no.

      Unless some work was done on the line outside my house or further along the exchange line. Could I find that out somehow?

      If I could get TCP optimiser to work with Vista, I might fix the problem?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: TCP Optimiser and Vista

      As NR says, getting the optimiser to work will only lift the speed to the max that the router is synching with.

      Your router syncs to teh net regardless of vista or XP (you dont even need a PC!!!)

      So for soem reason your router is now only syncing at 8952, so that's where your problem is.

      Have you tried rebooting the router to see if it resyncs back to the higher level.

    6. #5
      j0n_d's Avatar
      j0n_d is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TCP Optimiser and Vista

      Yes I have rebooted the router, several times. And at different times of the day. The figures stay the same though. I have also adjusted the noise margin to 10.

      Is it time to phone Sky? Could I be capped? And even if I were capped it does not explain why I lose my connection several times a day. (If anyone has Vista running, when I put the cursor over the internet monitor icon by the clock on the task bar, it says "Local Access" when I lose a connection, whereas when I am connected it says "Local and Internet Access"

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: TCP Optimiser and Vista

      I have been running Vista from UK launch on SkyBB like a few other members and speaking for myself, I only tried TCPOptimizer on the 1st day, However Vista uses newer TCP/IP Setting meaning it is pre-configg'd to get the best from high speed connects unlike XP.

      The issue you are getting where the LAN in Vista dies is when the PPPoA connection on the router dies (when it reboots) Unlike XP, Instead of saying Connection Down/LAN Failed, Vista leaves you connected to the NETWORK in this case the router, and only the outgoing Internet connection is down.

    8. #7
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: TCP Optimiser and Vista

      look for this on google

      UnBlocka Turbo

      i havent tried it as i dont have vista but its a well known fact vista as does xp blocks ports

      if you try it read about it and be it on your own head

      theres another patch out there that opens ports too but cant remember what it is

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION